Singapore Expats

Company info stolen!

Discuss your views about Singapore business & economy, current policies & issues, starting a business in Singapore.
aleksan

Company info stolen!

Post by aleksan » Thu, 26 Dec 2013 7:40 pm

I'm a manager in a medium sized cleaning company. We do work for hotels, kitchens, condos etc.

To cut a long story short, my director and I uncovered 2 of our ops managers stealing client information and directing some of our clients to a competitor. Apparently they've been moonlighting at one of our competitors. And getting kickbacks for referring clients over. We think we have proof of this as we've managed to get logs of their correspondence through their work emails.

The big issue is, one of them has been our ops manager for a while and as I went through his employement contract, I discovered that he does not have a non competition clause in his contract.
The more junior of the 2 has a non comp clause in his contract.

We are looking to sue for damages as some of these contracts were not small.
Will we be able to sue both of them considering the more senior manager doesn't have a non comp clause?

We will be seeking legal advice shortly but in the meantime we are obtaining more evidenceagagainst these two. What evidence will be of use in our case?

JR8
Immortal
Immortal

Re: Company info stolen!

Post by JR8 » Thu, 26 Dec 2013 8:01 pm

aleksan wrote:I'm a manager in a medium sized cleaning company. We do work for hotels, kitchens, condos etc.

To cut a long story short, my director and I uncovered 2 of our ops managers stealing client information and directing some of our clients to a competitor. Apparently they've been moonlighting at one of our competitors. And getting kickbacks for referring clients over. We think we have proof of this as we've managed to get logs of their correspondence through their work emails.