Singapore Expats

Employment pass temporary business visit SG + conviction?

Discuss about getting a well paid job or career advancement. Ask about salaries, expat packages, CPF & taxes for expatriate.
hellogoodbye

Employment pass temporary business visit SG + conviction?

Post by hellogoodbye » Fri, 20 Dec 2013 6:12 am

Hi there, as you can see i'm a newbie over here :oops:

My current employer asked me to work in Singapore for a period of 4 weeks.
I just received the application from my employer and I started to fill everything in.

Actually, I didn't realize that I would need a visa for working in Singapore for a short period and for the same company as I work now for.

In part 8 they ask the question if I have ever been convicted in a court of law in any country.
Well I have, in 2010. I got caught in a store with the wrong people at the wrong time. I got convicted in Europe and did 60hrs of community service.

I am wondering, is there any chance I will get the Employment pass or is it not worth trying to apply for it? Of course all I want to be is honest, so if there is no chance I will get it I will not continue with the application.

Thanks in advance!
Last edited by hellogoodbye on Wed, 22 Jan 2014 2:49 pm, edited 6 times in total.

sundaymorningstaple
Answers: 21

Post by sundaymorningstaple » Fri, 20 Dec 2013 6:55 am

While it's not "spent" and will still appear on your record, I wouldn't, as long as you are forthcoming about it, worry too much. Yes, it might bounce the visa application, but again, it might not. One thing is for sure, if you don't apply you will not get the visa. If you do apply, there is still the change you won't get the visa, but there is also a chance you might. Nothing ventured, nothing gained.