Singapore Expats Forum

30 F Indian-American TCK

Events and gatherings for the 30's Club
Write30

30 F Indian-American TCK

Postby Write30 » Sat, 14 Dec 2013 6:48 pm

I'm Indian-American but travelled all over the world. Since I grew up abroad, my sense of culture and identity is very unique and I feel like I am a blend of both the East and the West.

I consider myself more of an American or Westernized because that is how I grew up. I respect and value my culture of origin and Indian heritage but have no ties to India at all. Yet I dont feel like I fit in fully with the mainstream American culture.

Can anyone else relate to this? It's a strange life. Only other TCKs can relate.

Anyways, I'm new to Singapore and looking to hang out. I like to explore the city, salsa dance, go out and I love writing and reading. I love exploring, traveling and learning about new cultures and ideas.

Wd40
Director
Director

Postby Wd40 » Tue, 17 Dec 2013 2:00 pm

What is TCK? I know about ABCD(American born confused desi)

pisceangirl
Chatter
Chatter

Postby pisceangirl » Tue, 17 Dec 2013 2:09 pm

Short for Third Culture Kid!

PNGMK
Governor
Governor

Postby PNGMK » Tue, 17 Dec 2013 3:16 pm

Dot or feather Indian? I assume dot now but for some reason figured you meant Native American by your posting title.

transformers

Fellow TCK here.

Postby transformers » Mon, 23 Dec 2013 10:10 am

It would be great to get in touch. Here's my email address: kelim21@hotmail.com.

transformers

Fellow TCK here.

Postby transformers » Mon, 23 Dec 2013 10:17 am

It would be great to get in touch. Here's my email address: kelim21@hotmail.com.

Groschat

TCK too

Postby Groschat » Sat, 04 Jan 2014 10:03 pm

Hi there, I can totally relate to this!
I was born in China and grew up in Japan and Singapore. Always feel that "Where are you from?" is a million dollar question that is so hard to answer! :P

Would love to meet fellow TCKs! :)

Write30

Postby Write30 » Sun, 05 Jan 2014 5:06 am