Singapore Expats

iPhone 5 appetite

Discuss about computers & Internet. Including mobile phones, home appliances & other gadgets. Read about Windows security risks or virus updates.
Steve1960
Editor
Editor

iPhone 5 appetite

Post by Steve1960 » Wed, 11 Dec 2013 1:55 pm

Having a problem with my wife's new iPhone 5S.

Its not on contract its pay as you go and it is eating her credit at an alarming rate. I have trawled the Internet and picked up some ideas which have not improved the problem.

When outside the apartment she wants to use 3G for emails (no attachments) and SMS messages without everything else on the phone causing unnecessary data traffic.

I have switched off what I can find but I am no expert with mobile phones and particularly the Apple OS.

Suggestions or advice? Oh, my advice before purchasing it was buy a Samsung S4 with Android but she ignored that :wink:

nakatago

Re: iPhone 5 appetite

Post by nakatago » Wed, 11 Dec 2013 2:29 pm

Steve1960 wrote:Having a problem with my wife's new iPhone 5S.

Its not on contract its pay as you go and it is eating her credit at an alarming rate. I have trawled the Internet and picked up some ideas which have not improved the problem.

When outside the apartment she wants to use 3G for emails (no attachments) and SMS messages without everything else on the phone causing unnecessary data traffic.

I have switched off what I can find but I am no expert with mobile phones and particularly the Apple OS.

Suggestions or advice? Oh, my advice before purchasing it was buy a Samsung S4 with Android but she ignored that :wink:
Restrict background data? Skip over to the iOS section:

http://www.techhive.com/article/2048068 ... d-ios.html
"A quokka is what would happen if there was an anime about kangaroos."

Akimbo
Reporter
Reporter

Post by Akimbo » Wed, 11 Dec 2013 2:41 pm

Are you talking about data or battery?

If it's data, you have switched on the prepaid plan, right? (I did this also with my current 4S)