Singapore Expats

Renouncing Singapore Citizenship - Urgent help me!

A moderated forum for serious discussions only.
Rahil Kapour

Renouncing Singapore Citizenship - Urgent help me!

Post by Rahil Kapour » Wed, 20 Nov 2013 4:49 pm

Please help me in assessing the pros/cons:

Born in Boston, USA. Since then traveling on US passport. Parents came to Singapore when I was 6 mth old. Father working with an American oil company. They were Indian citizen and I was US. I studied in UWC Int’l school on a student pass. After 3 years or so parents converted from Indian passport to Singapore passport and I got the PR. Throughout studied in Int’l school. In 2004 father was transferred abroad and since then we were living overseas and never visited Singapore for 8yrs.

Early last year 2012 one of family friend advised father that Singapore allows dual citizenship for kids up to the age of 21. He applied for me and got it in 2-3 mths. He did not discuss with me but his intention was that I am getting option of another citizenship and by the time I am 21years I can decide which one to keep. However, mid last year 2012 he was transferred to Singapore. I resumed back in UWC Int’l school but with some difficulty as we had to write to MOE to allow admission in a Int’ls school (b/c of my Sing citizenship). Since ICA required Singapore citizenship certificate to be collected in person it was only done in Q4, 2012 when we had moved to Singapore. Later we received notice from ICA to collect Pink IC and my parents did that. But have not applied for Singapore passport for me.