Singapore Expats

Do we need to be married to move to Singapore?

Moving to Singapore? Ask our regular expats in Singapore questions on relocation and their experience here. Ask about banking, employment pass, insurance, visa, work permit, citizenship or immigration issues.

Sponsored by:

Utrust Immigration
scottniblock

Do we need to be married to move to Singapore?

Post by scottniblock » Tue, 15 Oct 2013 2:23 am

Hi Everyone,

We visited Singapore last year on a bit of a tour of the world. We are from Scotland and we loved Singapore. We would like to move there in a couple of years and I have already seen a few ideal jobs. I currently work in the oil industry as an Integrity Engineer and I am in my last year of my degree through night classes at University so I don't see any problems with me getting a job in Singapore. My partner that I have been with for 4 years finished high school but did not go to university. She has her own catering business now but would seel up before the move. When we first get to Singpaore she probably would not work at first until we got settled and she decided what she wanted to do. My question is - would we have to be married for my partner to get a visa or would it be possible for her to get a visa?

Thanks
Scott

beppi
Manager
Manager

Post by beppi » Tue, 15 Oct 2013 4:51 am

You'll need to be married or prove (e.g. by a official statement from your home country or embassy) to prove a marriage-like relationship and/or having lived together for some time, to get a DP (dependent's pass, a kind or visa for accompanying partner).
Please note that it's very difficult to get a work visa (EP - employment pass) as a fresh graduate or without a degree. Part-time degrees are not recognised here.

uscate
Chatter
Chatter

Post by uscate » Tue, 15 Oct 2013 8:06 am