Singapore Expats

Moving to singapore with a criminal record in the UK?

Moving to Singapore? Ask our regular expats in Singapore questions on relocation and their experience here. Ask about banking, employment pass, insurance, visa, work permit, citizenship or immigration issues.

Sponsored by:

Utrust Immigration
tick

Moving to singapore with a criminal record in the UK?

Post by tick » Tue, 08 Oct 2013 1:46 am

Hi there, I'm recently married to a Singaporean and we would like to move to Singapore but I have been convicted with intent to supply for valliums which happened about 3 years ago. I have a degree from a reputable university, and relevant work experience in my field. I am looking to start a new life and join my wife's family in Singapore. Would I be rejected of a work permit? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

PNGMK
Answers: 10

Post by PNGMK » Tue, 08 Oct 2013 8:04 am

I personally think you have a better than even chance of getting a work permit (all other issues such as finding a job aside). Singapore doesn't appear to be one of those countries that never allows convicted persons in (such as the US or Canada) or allow them to work. Indeed Singapore itself has a criminal rehabilitation program that has won awards for putting people back into the work force after serious convictions.

x9200

Re: Moving to singapore with a criminal record in the UK?

Post by x9200 » Tue, 08 Oct 2013 8:05 am

tick wrote:Hi there, I'm recently married to a Singaporean and we would like to move to Singapore but I have been convicted with intent to supply for valliums which happened about 3 years ago. I have a degree from a reputable university, and relevant work experience in my field. I am looking to start a new life and join my wife's family in Singapore. Would I be rejected of a work permit? Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Valliums? You mean this drug? Intent to supply sounds like trafficking. If this is the case you may be IMHO doomed.

sundaymorningstaple