Singapore Expats

If you were an employer...

Discuss about getting a well paid job or career advancement. Ask about salaries, expat packages, CPF & taxes for expatriate.
das1223

If you were an employer...

Post by das1223 » Mon, 07 Oct 2013 5:55 pm

...what do you think in regards to a foreigner employee that asks for an UNPAID leave two months out of the year? Is this something I can negotiate with my employer..?

background on myself: I'm a trailing spouse that landed a job on a DP. I hold an ivy league US masters degree (not sure if it matters but listed anyway) and couple years of experience. I took on a job that pays local salary (about half of what I was getting paid in US) just for the experience alone bc I didn't want to be out of the job market for too long. I've been told this is how much the locals get paid.. so I've accepted this is how it is in Singapore for someone with less experience.

The concern is this: I am content with my job responsibilities and really enjoy working with my colleagues and boss as they're great, but I get homesick time to time and the leave I get (normal of every company) is not enough to make a trip out to the US. I thought about what would make me happy- and it's not a pay raise to match my past salary, or to get a higher position title. But it's to have a professional career where I can the opportunity to leave for a month, twice a year to go back home or to travel around SE Asia. To be fair to the company, it would be UNPAID and I'm fine with that.

I'd hate to quit altogether and to be a stay-at-home spouse, as that'll be wasting my talent and the opportunity to grow professionally. But I've been getting stressed being here for too long despite my short getaways to nearby countries for few days. It's an on-going struggle trying to find that right balance.