Singapore Expats

Weird tap water taste?

Discuss about the latest news & interesting topics, real life experience or other out of topic discussions with locals & expatriates in Singapore.
mikalyllau

Weird tap water taste?

Post by mikalyllau » Sun, 29 Sep 2013 2:40 pm

Hi everyone, I am new to Singapore and here in the forum.

Just wondering if it was only me, :???: the tap water here does taste a little weird to me. So far I have only been purchasing bottles of distilled water from stores.

nakatago

Post by nakatago » Sun, 29 Sep 2013 3:50 pm

Must be the urine-recycled-into-drinking water or the desalinated seawater......
"A quokka is what would happen if there was an anime about kangaroos."

Barnsley
Manager
Manager

Post by Barnsley » Sun, 29 Sep 2013 9:26 pm

nakatago wrote:Must be the urine-recycled-into-drinking water or the desalinated seawater......
Uniquely Singapore :D
Life is short, paddle harder!!

therat
Editor
Editor
Answers: 2

Post by therat » Sun, 29 Sep 2013 10:13 pm

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/NEWater

NEWater is the brand name given to reclaimed water produced by Singapore's Public Utilities Board. More specifically, it is treated wastewater (sewage) that has been purified using dual-membrane (via microfiltration and reverse osmosis) and ultraviolet technologies, in addition to conventional water treatment processes.

The water is potable and can be consumed by humans, but is mostly used for industry requiring high purity water.

auskid

Post by auskid » Sun, 29 Sep 2013 10:55 pm

I've found the same.. also have been buying bottled water

BedokAmerican
Chatter
Chatter

Post by BedokAmerican » Mon, 30 Sep 2013 8:04 am

I haven't found the water to taste any more different than usual. What part of Singapore are you staying?

Max Headroom
Reporter
Reporter
Answers: 1

Post by Max Headroom » Mon, 30 Sep 2013 11:48 am