Singapore Expats

Will my dubai tv work in Singapore?

Moving to Singapore? Ask our regular expats in Singapore questions on relocation and their experience here. Ask about banking, employment pass, insurance, visa, work permit, citizenship or immigration issues.
Post Reply
Hayz6609
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue, 24 Sep 2013 3:18 am
Location: Singapore

Will my dubai tv work in Singapore?

Post by Hayz6609 » Tue, 24 Sep 2013 3:25 am

When I moved to Dubai from the uk I had to buy a new tv as it needs a special receiver or something to work in Dubai.

Does anyone know if a tv bought in Dubai will work in Singapore?

User avatar
sundaymorningstaple
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 40450
Joined: Thu, 11 Nov 2004 1:26 pm
Answers: 21
Location: Retired on the Little Red Dot

Post by sundaymorningstaple » Tue, 24 Sep 2013 6:53 am

If it a multi-system, multivoltage model, should work with no problem. Just check the manual to see if it will run 115-240V and PAL/BG/NTSC, etc. if it does, no sweat. Most TV made in the past 10 years or so usually are multisystem.
SOME PEOPLE TRY TO TURN BACK THEIR ODOMETERS. NOT ME. I WANT PEOPLE TO KNOW WHY I LOOK THIS WAY. I'VE TRAVELED A LONG WAY, AND SOME OF THE ROADS WEREN'T PAVED. ~ Will Rogers

FaeLLe
Chatter
Chatter
Posts: 486
Joined: Wed, 28 Feb 2007 9:38 am
Location: London

Re: Will my dubai tv work in Singapore?

Post by FaeLLe » Wed, 25 Sep 2013 5:16 pm

Hayz6609 wrote:When I moved to Dubai from the uk I had to buy a new tv as it needs a special receiver or something to work in Dubai.

Does anyone know if a tv bought in Dubai will work in Singapore?
Yes.

User avatar
Strong Eagle
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11677
Joined: Sat, 10 Jul 2004 12:13 am
Answers: 10
Location: Off The Red Dot
Contact:

Post by Strong Eagle » Wed, 25 Sep 2013 10:12 pm

Interesting. I would have thought a UK TV would work in Dubai since both are PAL. Then, I read up on PAL... turns out there is PAL I in UK and PAL B/G in Dubai/Singapore.

A UK TV would work video wise according to what I read, audio would not.

And, a TV purchased in Dubai should work in Singapore.

http://www.paradiso-design.net/TVsystem ... #Continent

x9200
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 10073
Joined: Mon, 07 Sep 2009 4:06 pm
Location: Singapore

Post by x9200 » Thu, 26 Sep 2013 6:06 am

It depends how it is going to be used. If you subscribe to the cable then everything should work as the cable box will do the processing/encoding and all the boxes can provide both digital (i.e. hdmi, coax, optical) and analogue (component, composite) "out".

kookaburrah
Regular
Regular
Posts: 141
Joined: Thu, 21 Aug 2008 12:28 am
Location: SG

Post by kookaburrah » Thu, 26 Sep 2013 10:44 am

I brought a TV from the UK. It's maybe 8 or 9 years old - a sony.

It works fine in singapore, even on the signal from the condo's antenna.

Hannieroo
Reporter
Reporter
Posts: 999
Joined: Tue, 22 Jan 2013 6:04 pm

Post by Hannieroo » Thu, 26 Sep 2013 9:11 pm

I have three UK TVs here and they are fine. As are the UK xboxes and the UAE wii.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Relocating, Moving to Singapore”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests