Singapore Expats

American woman considering Singapore

New here? Don't be shy. Introduce yourself here and expand your social network!
Lilyy123

American woman considering Singapore

Post by Lilyy123 » Fri, 06 Sep 2013 6:34 am

Currently, I live in South Florida which I dislike. I am from Chicago and have lived in several states. I am going to look for a teaching job at a private school in Singapore. I work as a middle-school teacher at a public-school in Florida and would like to work, again, as a middle-school teacher in Singapore. Any thoughts you can pass my way are appreciated.
Are there any social events in Singapore that do not involve a bottle of Jim Beam? I do not touch alcohol. Thank you.
I grew up in Chicago and miss the area a great deal. I have lived in several states plus two years in Cairo, Egypt. Travel to Europe is something I enjoy and do as often as possible.
Currently, I live in South Florida. I hope to find a new teaching job in Singapore.

PNGMK
Answers: 10

Post by PNGMK » Fri, 06 Sep 2013 8:22 am

Register on ISS (International School Search). Go to the job fairs which I think are held twice a year in the USA. This is how my wife got started in the International School system 20 years ago and ISS is still going. There is another group like ISS but I don't know their name.

PS - my wife doesn't drink and has an active social life in Singapore- so can you.
Last edited by PNGMK on Fri, 06 Sep 2013 8:23 am, edited 1 time in total.

scarbowl
Chatter
Chatter

Post by scarbowl » Fri, 06 Sep 2013 8:30 am

I'm curious as to why you selected Singapore? What do you expect to find here that you aren't finding in S. Florida?

There are plenty of private schools here hiring expatriate teachers. Some pay well and provide housing and other benefits. I understand there is a process for this including interviews in the USA which you might want to learn about now. The local Ministry of Education also hires American and other teachers but might not pay as well.