Singapore Expats

What to do while my husband works in Singapore

Moving to Singapore? Ask our regular expats in Singapore questions on relocation and their experience here. Ask about banking, employment pass, insurance, visa, work permit, citizenship or immigration issues.

Sponsored by:

Utrust Immigration
Munekita

What to do while my husband works in Singapore

Post by Munekita » Thu, 22 Aug 2013 9:16 am

My husband is being relocated to Singapore for a 1-2 year contract with the same company he works for back home. We are from the USA. and when his contract is over we'll be relocated back to where we were before.
While the company will help us get situated in Singapore, I'm not sure what I will do to fill my time. Can I get a job for a couple months? Is there a short term work permit i can apply for? Even if its a job at a mall or restaurant??
I have an Associates degree inn Lab Science, but I heard that will be a hard job to get in Singapore since theres a lot of competition from people with higher degrees.
If theres nothing i can do "work-wise" i was going to try to volunteer and just take this as a vacation, any suggestion?

sundaymorningstaple
Answers: 21

Post by sundaymorningstaple » Thu, 22 Aug 2013 9:47 am

Probably your last line says it all, truth be known.
SOME PEOPLE TRY TO TURN BACK THEIR ODOMETERS. NOT ME. I WANT PEOPLE TO KNOW WHY I LOOK THIS WAY. I'VE TRAVELED A LONG WAY, AND SOME OF THE ROADS WEREN'T PAVED. ~ Will Rogers

Wd40
Director
Director
Answers: 1

Post by Wd40 » Thu, 22 Aug 2013 10:46 am

The best thing would be to hope for nothing and then be pleasantly surprised if you find work on LoC.

Just to update the regulars here. My colleague's wife, Indian, a fresh engineering graduate from India recently got a job as a technical recruiter. She was approved to work with the LoC.