Singapore Expats

Help with Rental Process

Discuss about where to live, renting a property, tenancy issues, property trend and property investment in Singapore.
ronin013

Help with Rental Process

Post by ronin013 » Mon, 19 Aug 2013 9:35 am

Hello everyone. I am brand new to Singapore Expats.

1. Is there a guide that outlines the entire process of renting from start (initially contacting an agent or property owner) to finish (moving in)? I noticed there are some targeted articles about aspects of renting, but not one that generally covers the entire process in Singapore.

2. How long should I wait for an email response from an agent or property owner? I am currently located in the United States and email is the best way for me to make contact.

Thank you very much!

Search By

bgd
Manager
Manager

Post by bgd » Mon, 19 Aug 2013 11:02 am

Start with the Expat Guides at the top of this forum. Then use the Search function for any specific questions you still have.

x9200

Re: Help with Rental Process

Post by x9200 » Mon, 19 Aug 2013 12:13 pm

ronin013 wrote:Hello everyone. I am brand new to Singapore Expats.

1. Is there a guide that outlines the entire process of renting from start (initially contacting an agent or property owner) to finish (moving in)? I noticed there are some targeted articles about aspects of renting, but not one that generally covers the entire process in Singapore.

2. How long should I wait for an email response from an agent or property owner? I am currently located in the United States and email is the best way for me to make contact.
What do you want to achieve? If securing the property you liked by looking at the photos this is generally a bad idea.

1. Look for properties online and identify what you like
2. Come to Singapore and allow yourself at least 10 days for finding the place
3. Contact the owner/agent by phone (for a specific property) or submit a general inquiry via the places like this website