Singapore Expats

Info on Singapore work visa required

Discuss about getting a well paid job or career advancement. Ask about salaries, expat packages, CPF & taxes for expatriate.
IanE

Info on Singapore work visa required

Post by IanE » Sat, 13 Jul 2013 2:47 am

My situation is that I currently work in London as a self employed contractor, which I have been doing for over two years.

The company that I contract to in London would like me to move to Singapore to work for them there.

I have a UK and an Australian passport.

I believe that I will be expected to continue to use my UK company to invoice the company that I contract to whilst I am in Singapore.

I would like to work in Singapore for one year initially, with the possibility of staying longer.

The questions that I have are as follows:

1. Would I be eligible for a Singapore work visa?

2. If I would be eligible for a Singapore work visa, would I have to apply before I leave the UK, or do I apply when I arrive in Singapore?

3. Would my girlfriend be eligible for a visa to come with me (we've lived together for five years)?

4. How would the tax situation work if I use my UK company to invoice in Europe?

I am sure that I will have further questions based on the answers above.

Thanks in advance for any help provided.

Strong Eagle
Answers: 9

Re: Info on Singapore work visa required

Post by Strong Eagle » Sat, 13 Jul 2013 4:39 am

IanE wrote:My situation is that I currently work in London as a self employed contractor, which I have been doing for over two years.

The company that I contract to in London would like me to move to Singapore to work for them there.

I have a UK and an Australian passport.

I believe that I will be expected to continue to use my UK company to invoice the company that I contract to whilst I am in Singapore.

I would like to work in Singapore for one year initially, with the possibility of staying longer.

The questions that I have are as follows: