Singapore Expats Forum

CPF question

Discuss about getting a well paid job or career advancement. Ask about salaries, expat packages, CPF & taxes for expatriate.

little goose

CPF question

Postby little goose » Mon, 27 Dec 2004 10:45 am

Hihi,

brief question: I am on EP but wanna switch to PR status (that way, i can still stay in SG should i decide to give up current job).
However, I have heard that a fraction of my monthly salary is withdrawn to the CPF every month. The positive side is that my employer contributes also to my CPF. BUT, does that mean that the amount contributed by him will just be deducted from my year-end bonus (since in net effect, it has become more "expensive" to hire me..)? Reason for asking this question is that I work in the finance industry, where the year-end bonus is normally higher than other industries...
Thanks for reading...wish u guys out there a belated merry Xmas

pastrian.allac
Regular
Regular

Postby pastrian.allac » Mon, 27 Dec 2004 11:28 am

For my case, if I don't remember wrongly, during my first 2 years of PR status, my bonus isn't deducted for CPF. Only on the 3rd year, I encountered such deductions. I'm not sure is this a rule or my HR department has forgotten to do so (for the no-deduction during the 1st 2 years). I doubt it's the latter case though. In case you're still confused, I mean when your monthly CPF contribution has risen up to the same percentage as SG citizens (20% from your salary), then it's time your bonuses will be deducted off for the purpose. This is what I figured out though. Bonus is also part of what you earn throughout the year, so it should be subjected to CPF deductions.

briceloh
Reporter
Reporter

Postby briceloh » Mon, 27 Dec 2004 11:47 am

Check with your HR, they may offer u more updated answers.

sundaymorningstaple

Postby sundaymorningstaple » Mon, 27 Dec 2004 12:01 pm