Singapore Expats

Credit Card Accounts Upon Leaving Singapore

Discuss the different banking options, rates, offers and perks.
gocanucks

Credit Card Accounts Upon Leaving Singapore

Post by gocanucks » Wed, 24 Apr 2013 10:39 pm

Hi Everyone,

I am hoping to get some advice on what happens to outstanding credit card accounts if I leave Singapore (and cancel my EP).

Firstly, I want to clarify that I am not looking to "run" and leave the debit behind. I am simply looking to confirm whether the bank will ask for me immediate payment of the whole amount outstanding (so I can make the necessary arrangements when I cancel my EP? Or, will I actually be able to continue utilizing the card and just pay down as necessary (assuming I can keep bank accounts open)

Thanks for the advice!

sundaymorningstaple
Answers: 21

Post by sundaymorningstaple » Wed, 24 Apr 2013 11:21 pm

I've been using my US credit cards for 31 years while here in Singapore. I didn't do a runner and alway pay my bills on or before the due dates.
SOME PEOPLE TRY TO TURN BACK THEIR ODOMETERS. NOT ME. I WANT PEOPLE TO KNOW WHY I LOOK THIS WAY. I'VE TRAVELED A LONG WAY, AND SOME OF THE ROADS WEREN'T PAVED. ~ Will Rogers

Strong Eagle
Answers: 9

Post by Strong Eagle » Thu, 25 Apr 2013 2:35 am

I've got credit cards at 3 Singapore banks. When I moved back to the USA, i went to electronic statements and informed all of them of my change of address. That's it. Of course, I've paid off my balance monthly.

They don't care where you are as long as you pay your bills.

JR8
Immortal
Immortal

Post by JR8 » Thu, 25 Apr 2013 3:01 am

Yep ditto. Back and forth from Asia, Europe, America.

Advise change of address, get the bills, pay them. There has never been any issue that I recall.

nakatago

Post by nakatago » Thu, 25 Apr 2013 8:20 am

* electronic statements