Singapore Expats

Need help to look for a room to rent

Discuss about the latest news & interesting topics, real life experience or other out of topic discussions with locals & expatriates in Singapore.
GrégoireR

Need help to look for a room to rent

Post by GrégoireR » Fri, 12 Apr 2013 9:00 pm

Hello,

I'm a French student currently in exchange at NUS and I'd like to stay after the end of the semester in Singapore for an internship. I am currently staying on campus, but as I am not a full time student, I am not allowed to stay there during the vacation, that is why I am looking for a room to rent from May to July.

So I'd like to know if ever you had some advice or information to help me in my research! I'm looking for a single room, with wifi, access to a bathroom and a kitchen. I'd like to pay less than 500 SGD/month.

Thanking you in advance!

PS: I have already post a similar topic yesterday, but I think it has been removed, I don't know exactly why, so that's why I've changed it a bit, please let me know if it doesn't fit with the rules of the forum.

beppi
Manager
Manager

Post by beppi » Fri, 12 Apr 2013 9:32 pm

Even if you raise your budget to S$800-1000/month (which is the current rate for sublet rooms), you'll have to be lucky to find anything. Singapore landlords do not like to rent out for such a short time, and in fact it is also not allowed for shorter than six months in most cases.
An alternative are Serviced Apartments (starting from S$2000/month) or cheap hotels (S$60-80/night).

taxico
Director
Director

Re: Need help to look for a room to rent

Post by taxico » Fri, 12 Apr 2013 9:41 pm

because this is illegal:
GrégoireR wrote:...I am looking for a room to rent from May to July...
you might want to look into asking your school mates, putting up notices on campus, and looking at maybe a cheap motel (?) - the rates are i think 20-30 bucks a night.

beppi
Manager
Manager

Post by beppi » Fri, 12 Apr 2013 10:28 pm