Singapore Expats

Motorcycle Day Trips, Evening Rides, etc.

Discuss anything relating to automotive here, from car leasing to buying a vehicle.
achieve1ness

Motorcycle Day Trips, Evening Rides, etc.

Post by achieve1ness » Wed, 06 Mar 2013 3:08 pm

Hi All,

Relatively new rider here looking for a community of expats or locals who enjoy going on evening rides or day trips, etc. I'm American and bought my first bike here in SG about 9 months ago, (2008 Yamaha FZ6 S2). I got my license back in the states about a month before moving here and was lucky to get it converted to a Class 2 here in SG. I have been riding various bikes since 2005 on trips to Thailand, Laos, etc. but never owned until now. I chose a 600cc bike to start with and it has been a perfect balance of performance and practicality. I am thanking the stars I didn't do something stupid like get a liter bike before gaining the necessary experience and discipline...(I was looking at an 05' FZ1 before choosing the FZ6).

I'm looking to network, get riding tips, plan some track days at some point and explore SG and beyond.

taxico
Director
Director

Post by taxico » Wed, 06 Mar 2013 3:54 pm

ride safe. get a good helmet (on a budget? get a parallel imported japanese branded one and the TP won't harass you). wear a jacket (mesh if you so choose).

you might find more local riders at the singaporebike forums.

achieve1ness

Post by achieve1ness » Wed, 06 Mar 2013 4:58 pm

Already have the bike, helmet, jacket, gloves and some time on the road. Just need the people :). The only road trip I've been on so far was Malacca.

I don't really like the Singapore bike forum rules and requirements so just figured I would post here. I'm not a fan of how they force you to jump through hoops and provide them with so much personal info; it's unnecessary.

x9200

Post by x9200 » Wed, 06 Mar 2013 7:41 pm