Singapore Expats Forum

Adopt an Aussie? 27/M

Events and gatherings for the 20's Club
NickR

Adopt an Aussie? 27/M

Postby NickR » Tue, 05 Feb 2013 9:24 am

Hi guys

Can’t say I’ve ever done this before so I am a complete newbie in more ways than one!

Anyway, I am moving to Singapore next weekend (16 February) from Australia and am keen to meet some people.

I’m 27 and work in the legal industry. I grew up in Australia but have lived in the UK previously. I’m pretty outgoing and fun (some might even say a little bit loose). I work hard during the week but I’m always up for drinks and a bit of a party on the weekend. My interests are pretty varied, but I enjoy keeping fit (gym, cycling, and triathlon), music, wine, eating out, shopping and travel.

I’m interested in meeting other like minded guys and girls who are keen to get amongst it and take advantage of all the cool things that Singapore has to offer. If it sounds like we might get along drop me an email to ndrobertson@gmail.com.

Cheers

The Ref
Chatter
Chatter

No problems meeting Aussies in Singapore

Postby The Ref » Tue, 05 Feb 2013 11:02 am

There are Aussies everywhere you go in Singapore who are generally happy to embrace the Noob (this holds true for other nationalities also)

If you like sport, I always found the Roo bar in the Orchard hotel more welcoming than most other "Aussie" bars particularly as it is a small sports bar and less frequented by large groups. BUT you need to make the effort to talk to people. If you are friendly people wil talk to you, if you sit alone they will leave you alone.

Joining ANZA or Joy Riders for cycling - they are very different so do a ride with each to see which you prefer. ANZA is more serious and Joy Riders more relaxed but bigger groups.