Singapore Expats

Pre termination penalty in employment contract

Discuss about getting a well paid job or career advancement. Ask about salaries, expat packages, CPF & taxes for expatriate.
samSG2012

Pre termination penalty in employment contract

Post by samSG2012 » Thu, 31 Jan 2013 2:58 pm

Dear All,

I'm a qualified professional employed with a Singapore based software company. I joined in Feb 2012 with EP at a salary of S$5000. My EP would expire on 28th Feb 2013.

Compensation from employees for terminating a contract :
As per the clause in my 2 years employment contract, I may be asked to pay back a value equivalent to 3 months of salary (in addition to 3months notice period), if I leave before 12 months of my employment. Kindly note that, company has not incurred any additional expenses on me in the form of training, etc.

When I checked this with MoM, I got a response as below :
"The terms pertaining to monetary compensation for premature termination of the contract is a private contractual agreement and not governed by the Employment Act. The Civil Court will have jurisdiction in deciding such disputes. You may wish to consult a lawyer on this matter. "

As you all are aware, consulting a lawyer in SG is expensive affair.

1. Pls suggest if the compensation amount has to be paid, even if my EP expires.

2. Am I still bound under contractual obligation after EP expiry.

3. Since my EP expires on 28th Feb 2013, can I have the right to refuse extension/renewal of my EP. Would this cause any impact when any other company applies for my Singapore EP at a later stage.

4. Assuming that if I submit my resignation on 30th Jan 2013, would my notice period become ineffective as on 1st March 2013. Am I required to serve this notice period after 28th Feb 2013.

Appreciate any response on the above points.

Thank you.
[/list]

sundaymorningstaple
Answers: 21

Post by sundaymorningstaple » Thu, 31 Jan 2013 3:25 pm