Singapore Expats Forum

Using Indian Appliances in Singapore

Discuss about computers & Internet. Including mobile phones, home appliances & other gadgets. Read about Windows security risks or virus updates.
sumeghajayaswal
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun, 13 Jan 2013

Using Indian Appliances in Singapore

Postby sumeghajayaswal » Sun, 13 Jan 2013 9:05 pm

Hi Friends, I need urgent help, Ive just relocated to Singapore. I had read that we can use our Indian Appliances in Singapore, But I need an adapter ( bigger one) for my Microwave, i have checked at Mustafa but they have small adapters. Please tell me if someone has already bought one or knows where can i get one!!....

offshoreoildude
Manager
Manager
Posts: 1582
Joined: Wed, 04 Jul 2012

Postby offshoreoildude » Sun, 13 Jan 2013 9:07 pm

You can't use Indian appliances here. They will continually whine, work very slowly or use way too much power. They are also prone to stopping work just when you really need them and have a tendency to group in one corner smoking with all the other Indian appliances. I seriously hope you don't have any Pakistani appliances in the same house!

The gahmen is also tightening up on allowing them into the country on a permanent basis.

ROFL. Sorry.

Edit - added smoking
Last edited by offshoreoildude on Mon, 14 Jan 2013 10:35 am, edited 2 times in total.
Now I'm called PNGMK

offshoreoildude
Manager
Manager
Posts: 1582
Joined: Wed, 04 Jul 2012

Postby offshoreoildude » Sun, 13 Jan 2013 9:16 pm

PS - under PUB rules you should engage a LEW (Licensed Electrical Worker) to cut the Indian plug (presumably a BS546 or IA16A3 standard plug) off and wire up a BS1363 standard plug. A local handyman can probably do it for you. Don't do it yourself.
Now I'm called PNGMK

User avatar
zzm9980
Governor
Governor
Posts: 6841
Joined: Wed, 06 Jul 2011
Location: Once more unto the breach

Postby zzm9980 » Mon, 14 Jan 2013 8:29 am

offshoreoildude wrote:You can't use Indian appliances here. They will continually whine, work very slowly or use way too much power. They are also prone to stopping work just when you really need them and have a tendency to group in one corner with all the other Indian appliances. I seriously hope you don't have any Pakistani appliances in the same house!

The gahmen is also tightening up on allowing them into the country on a permanent basis.

ROFL. Sorry.


:D :D :cool:

User avatar
ecureilx
Immortal
Immortal
Posts: 9812
Joined: Fri, 20 Aug 2010

Postby ecureilx » Mon, 14 Jan 2013 10:21 am

offshoreoildude wrote:PS - under PUB rules you should engage a LEW (Licensed Electrical Worker) to cut the Indian plug (presumably a BS546 or IA16A3 standard plug) off and wire up a BS1363 standard plug. A local handyman can probably do it for you. Don't do it yourself.


And LEW may insist on new Circuit breakers too ;)

As for your other post

:cool: :cool:

User avatar
nakatago
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 8333
Joined: Tue, 01 Sep 2009
Location: Sister Margaret’s School for Wayward Children
Contact:

Postby nakatago » Mon, 14 Jan 2013 10:38 am

Yeah, that really was funny. Especially since I'm not Indian nor Pakistani... :P :P :P

#tongueincheek
#sortaracistjoke

User avatar
rajagainstthemachine
Manager
Manager
Posts: 2824
Joined: Sat, 24 Nov 2012
Location: Singapore

Postby rajagainstthemachine » Mon, 21 Jan 2013 5:08 pm

nakatago - there is a Line of Control and you are crossing it :tongue:

also thread starter - is it your appliance a 5A or a 15A appliance? if it's a microwave i'm guessing it would be a 5A appliance which should be ok, check an electrical/hardware store instead of mustafa

User avatar
nakatago
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 8333
Joined: Tue, 01 Sep 2009
Location: Sister Margaret’s School for Wayward Children
Contact:

Postby nakatago » Mon, 21 Jan 2013 5:12 pm

You didn't get it, did you?

User avatar
rajagainstthemachine
Manager
Manager
Posts: 2824
Joined: Sat, 24 Nov 2012
Location: Singapore

Postby rajagainstthemachine » Mon, 21 Jan 2013 5:13 pm

nakatago wrote:You didn't get it, did you?


I did I did i just wanted to make you feel bad about it :cool:

User avatar
nakatago
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 8333
Joined: Tue, 01 Sep 2009
Location: Sister Margaret’s School for Wayward Children
Contact:

Postby nakatago » Mon, 21 Jan 2013 5:18 pm

rajagainstthemachine wrote:
nakatago wrote:You didn't get it, did you?


I did I did i just wanted to make you feel bad about it :cool:


Oh I feel bad alright...but a different version of bad and for totally different reasons.

User avatar
rajagainstthemachine
Manager
Manager
Posts: 2824
Joined: Sat, 24 Nov 2012
Location: Singapore

Postby rajagainstthemachine » Mon, 21 Jan 2013 5:26 pm

nakatago wrote:
rajagainstthemachine wrote:
nakatago wrote:You didn't get it, did you?


I did I did i just wanted to make you feel bad about it :cool:


Oh I feel bad alright...but a different version of bad and for totally different reasons.


:?

offshoreoildude
Manager
Manager
Posts: 1582
Joined: Wed, 04 Jul 2012

Postby offshoreoildude » Mon, 21 Jan 2013 6:36 pm

Electrical standards (plus and voltages) have always been a fascination to me, (I originally trained as an EEE as well). In many countries the evolution of the country and it's colonial past can be seen in the standards. For example this standard BS_546 now is the root of a standard in over half a dozen countries and yet in it's home country Britain it almost doesn't exist anymore/

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/BS_546
Now I'm called PNGMK

User avatar
ecureilx
Immortal
Immortal
Posts: 9812
Joined: Fri, 20 Aug 2010

Postby ecureilx » Tue, 22 Jan 2013 10:15 am

rajagainstthemachine wrote:nakatago - there is a Line of Control and you are crossing it :tongue:

also thread starter - is it your appliance a 5A or a 15A appliance? if it's a microwave i'm guessing it would be a 5A appliance which should be ok, check an electrical/hardware store instead of mustafa


Most likely OP is looking to use Preethi Mixers and Grinders :D

Indian Microwave ? not likely ;)

Matter of fact, even Preethi can be purchased in Mustafa .. and you don't have to pay the cost of air-freighting the grinding stones :)

PS: BTW, while we seriously help the OP, the OP is totally MIA :) unless he is "WATCHING FROM ABOVE .. "

User avatar
rajagainstthemachine
Manager
Manager
Posts: 2824
Joined: Sat, 24 Nov 2012
Location: Singapore

Postby rajagainstthemachine » Tue, 22 Jan 2013 10:51 am

ecureilx wrote:
rajagainstthemachine wrote:nakatago - there is a Line of Control and you are crossing it :tongue:

also thread starter - is it your appliance a 5A or a 15A appliance? if it's a microwave i'm guessing it would be a 5A appliance which should be ok, check an electrical/hardware store instead of mustafa


Most likely OP is looking to use Preethi Mixers and Grinders :D

Indian Microwave ? not likely ;)

Matter of fact, even Preethi can be purchased in Mustafa .. and you don't have to pay the cost of air-freighting the grinding stones :)

PS: BTW, while we seriously help the OP, the OP is totally MIA :) unless he is "WATCHING FROM ABOVE .. "


OP must have got electrocuted as we speak and spazzing out on 240volts


Image

offshoreoildude
Manager
Manager
Posts: 1582
Joined: Wed, 04 Jul 2012

Postby offshoreoildude » Tue, 22 Jan 2013 11:13 am

rajagainstthemachine wrote:
ecureilx wrote:
rajagainstthemachine wrote:nakatago - there is a Line of Control and you are crossing it :tongue:

also thread starter - is it your appliance a 5A or a 15A appliance? if it's a microwave i'm guessing it would be a 5A appliance which should be ok, check an electrical/hardware store instead of mustafa


Most likely OP is looking to use Preethi Mixers and Grinders :D

Indian Microwave ? not likely ;)

Matter of fact, even Preethi can be purchased in Mustafa .. and you don't have to pay the cost of air-freighting the grinding stones :)

PS: BTW, while we seriously help the OP, the OP is totally MIA :) unless he is "WATCHING FROM ABOVE .. "


OP must have got electrocuted as we speak and spazzing out on 240volts


Image


You really are indian aren't you RATM? In Singapore the line voltage is 230VAC RMS +/- 10% at the power point. There hasn't ever been a 240VAC standard here. Get out of the topic you imbecile.
Now I'm called PNGMK


  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Computer, Internet, Phone & Electronics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest