Singapore Expats

High-speed trading firms rob traditional investors

Discuss about the latest news & interesting topics, real life experience or other out of topic discussions with locals & expatriates in Singapore.
Sergei82
Editor
Editor

High-speed trading firms rob traditional investors

Post by Sergei82 » Thu, 06 Dec 2012 11:28 pm

Study: Speed kills traditional investors High-frequency traders rake in profits.

http://www.garp.org/risk-news-and-resou ... wsid=55834

Looks like they found a candidate to be a scapegoat for the recession! :???:

JR8
Immortal
Immortal

Post by JR8 » Fri, 07 Dec 2012 1:06 am

Don't understand the point being made to be honest (sorry, my thickness perhaps!). But aren't traders and investors completely different things?

i.e. I used to be a trader for a living, but now I am an investor in retirement.

Sergei82
Editor
Editor

Post by Sergei82 » Fri, 07 Dec 2012 7:41 am

I also don't understand, since I am myself in low-latency exchange connectivity. Many people here may also be in a related field. Never heard about this is causing damage to people and speeding up recessions.

Strong Eagle
Answers: 9

Post by Strong Eagle » Fri, 07 Dec 2012 8:48 am

What value add does high speed trading contribute to an exchange, investors in general, or the overall economy? None, except for those who engage in it.

High speed trading relies on nothing more than the imperfect synchronization of data between markets. It ought to be banned.

nakatago

Post by nakatago » Fri, 07 Dec 2012 9:04 am

It's such an in thing now that I see a lot of job postings for C, C++ programmers just for high-speed trading. They've now resorted to languages that execute much faster. Next thing you know, they want people who do assembly language.

People are so greedy, they're willing to exploit fractions-of-a-second differences in code execution.
"A quokka is what would happen if there was an anime about kangaroos."

refugees

Post by refugees » Fri, 07 Dec 2012 9:56 am