Singapore Expats Forum

UK HR Graduate

Discuss about getting a well paid job or career advancement. Ask about salaries, expat packages, CPF & taxes for expatriate.

CG Simpson

UK HR Graduate

Postby CG Simpson » Thu, 06 Dec 2012 4:49 am

Hello all,

I've been reading through the past web pages and have found some absolutely wonderful /detailed material. I still had a few questions though on my own personal situation (of course).

First a few details:
I will be graduating from a respected business school in the UK with an MSc in Human Resource Management next summer and am hoping to settle/ work in Singapore for a couple of years following graduation. My work experience has largely been with part-time administrative or low level managerial positions within NGOs or non-profits. All except for this summer when I worked as a part-time market research consultant for a tech start-up.

I also speak Arabic at an intermediate level (not sure how relevant that is, but thought it might be a unique quality worth mentioning) and have experience working abroad. PS. I'm actually American, just studying in the UK at the moment.

Now the point of the post:
I would be looking to take on any HR position, though ideally it would deal either with learning and development or recruitment. I'm assuming my non-HR-focused work history may not be highly valued and that I would be entering the job market as a fresh graduate.

And the Questions:
- Are Singaporean companies or MNCs actually looking to hire in fresh talent from abroad, or would they prefer to bring in PRs/ Nationals at the start?
- If they are, what might be an expected or decent salary/ do I have any hope of meeting the 3,000 EP minimum salary let alone anything more?
- Could I come over on an S pass if I was offered something lower than the 3,000 or is that more for manual labour jobs?