Singapore Expats Forum

Best Package?

Discuss about computers & Internet. Including mobile phones, home appliances & other gadgets. Read about Windows security risks or virus updates.
tonycur
Member
Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed, 22 Aug 2012

Postby tonycur » Fri, 09 Nov 2012 5:41 pm

Doing some more research and M1 is doing 200mps fibre for $49.95....

JeromeTMX
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon, 19 Nov 2012

Postby JeromeTMX » Mon, 19 Nov 2012 11:52 am

you seldom get the speed that is quoted.

just to share an experience a friend had after getting fibre, he barely felt the upgrade from a previous 100mbs contract

User avatar
Zeenit
Reporter
Reporter
Posts: 603
Joined: Wed, 02 Apr 2008
Location: Singapore

Postby Zeenit » Mon, 19 Nov 2012 4:46 pm

http://www.opennet.com.sg/

See if these people will install open net into your apartment. of course with the LL permission. They the new kids on the block for fibre
Zeenit

User avatar
zzm9980
Governor
Governor
Posts: 6837
Joined: Wed, 06 Jul 2011
Location: Once more unto the breach

Postby zzm9980 » Mon, 19 Nov 2012 5:21 pm

JeromeTMX wrote:you seldom get the speed that is quoted.

just to share an experience a friend had after getting fibre, he barely felt the upgrade from a previous 100mbs contract


The downstream will be the same, but upstream and latency will be lower. That will improve overall performance (including downstream) in many cases, but certain situations you won't notice anything huge. (Large one-off downloads for example)

User avatar
sundaymorningstaple
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 34674
Joined: Thu, 11 Nov 2004
Location: Still Fishing!
Contact:

Postby sundaymorningstaple » Mon, 19 Nov 2012 5:30 pm

Zeenit wrote:http://www.opennet.com.sg/

See if these people will install open net into your apartment. of course with the LL permission. They the new kids on the block for fibre


They the ONLY kids on the block for fibre installation!

RimBlock
Regular
Regular
Posts: 110
Joined: Fri, 06 Oct 2006

Postby RimBlock » Tue, 20 Nov 2012 2:01 pm

I have been using Singnets 200Mb/s fibre package for a bit now and upgraded from the 8Mb ADSL service.

I have not seen any issues with unavailable service that were not due to me (i.e. the fibre cable worked loose when installing my rack).

I don't play games on-line although my two oldest do and are regularly playing counterstrike or Space Marine online with little problem.

For my part, browsing is fine although alternative DNS servers are setup (Google) which greatly improved speed and issues due to ISP DNS servers failing to provide timely (or any) DNS results.

The fastest speeds I have seen so far is around 6.3MB/s international (ssh, combined US/EU servers). It tends to level out at 3MB/s constant for me (the guaranteed 15Mb/s international at peak advertised = a theoretical max of 1.8MB/s). I don't recall highest local speed but Win 7 SP1 and various Linux Distros (CentOS 6.3 / Openfiler) downloaded very quickly.

One other note is that the ADSL router provided by Singtel (the black Pace unit) only has a single 1Gb/s connector, the others are all 100Mb/s. To get fast transfers between multiple PCs it is advisable to connect the 1Gb/s connector to a Gigabit switch and connect any computers to that instead. Low speed devices like set top boxes are fine on the 100Mb ports (we also have two MIO Tv boxes). The router also has WiFi.


I have not tried any of the other offerings by Starhub or M1 so cannot comment on them or provide a comparison.

RB
Without dialogues, if you tell them you want something real bad, you will get it real bad.

User avatar
zzm9980
Governor
Governor
Posts: 6837
Joined: Wed, 06 Jul 2011
Location: Once more unto the breach

Postby zzm9980 » Tue, 20 Nov 2012 3:28 pm

For my part, browsing is fine although alternative DNS servers are setup (Google) which greatly improved speed and issues due to ISP DNS servers failing to provide timely (or any) DNS results.[/quote]

This is a good tip, Singtel's DNS servers constantly have problems for me.

This is a nice free tool to suggest DNS servers for you to use:
https://code.google.com/p/namebench/

RimBlock
Regular
Regular
Posts: 110
Joined: Fri, 06 Oct 2006

Postby RimBlock » Tue, 20 Nov 2012 3:41 pm

Nice find.

Just have to be careful as some local servers seem to be unable to resolve 'some websites'. Is it 'control' (re: censorship) or is it just poor DNS management...

Don't know, Don't care. Using an open DNS from a reputable source is one way to resolve these issues.

This does not get around MDA imposed censorship however. For that you will need a VPN outside of Singapore, or so I am told :wink: .

RB
Without dialogues, if you tell them you want something real bad, you will get it real bad.

User avatar
x9200
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9294
Joined: Mon, 07 Sep 2009
Location: Singapore

Postby x9200 » Tue, 20 Nov 2012 4:24 pm

RimBlock wrote:Don't know, Don't care. Using an open DNS from a reputable source is one way to resolve these issues.

Running local caching DNS server improves it further :)

RimBlock
Regular
Regular
Posts: 110
Joined: Fri, 06 Oct 2006

Postby RimBlock » Tue, 20 Nov 2012 4:34 pm

No doubt :D .

One of the jobs on the list for my SBS 2011 server at home, that and sorting out the dynDNS / NAT / Firewall etc for remote access.

I have only just got the iSCSI SAN up and running too.

Oh well, no rest for the wicked... :wink:

RB
Without dialogues, if you tell them you want something real bad, you will get it real bad.

User avatar
x9200
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9294
Joined: Mon, 07 Sep 2009
Location: Singapore

Postby x9200 » Tue, 20 Nov 2012 7:30 pm

RimBlock wrote:No doubt :D .

One of the jobs on the list for my SBS 2011 server at home, that and sorting out the dynDNS / NAT / Firewall etc for remote access.

I am running all the above under Linux with a paid basic account from no-ip.com for the dynamic DNS. Works like a charm. I am also not a gaming animal so I am pretty fine with ssh tunneling for all remote access including VNC.


I have only just got the iSCSI SAN up and running too.
A dedicated raid-5 server (also under Linux) it is all I need at this moment :)

Oh well, no rest for the wicked... :wink:

RB

Good to meet one here :)

RimBlock
Regular
Regular
Posts: 110
Joined: Fri, 06 Oct 2006

Postby RimBlock » Wed, 21 Nov 2012 9:25 am

x9200 wrote:Good to meet one here :)


:) . I can usually be found via VR-Zone, Servethehome or Overclockers (.co.uk) as the forums here, well the ones I tend to look in, move quite slowly. That is of course understandable as it is not an IT centered site. I do pop in every now and then though.

Rather than completely derail this thread, I will create a new one so we, and others, can discuss things like this in more detail.

RB
Without dialogues, if you tell them you want something real bad, you will get it real bad.


  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Computer, Internet, Phone & Electronics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests