Help! I need to break tenancy agreement within first 30 days

Discuss about life in Singapore. Ask about cost of living, housing, travel, etiquette & lifestyle. Share experience & advice with Singaporeans & expat staying in Singapore.
Cupcakes2012

Help! I need to break tenancy agreement within first 30 days

Post by Cupcakes2012 » Thu, 05 Jul 2012 5:34 am

Hi all, I think this may be an old post but would really appreciate some help here....

I am new to Singapore and was pushed into signing a 2 year lease, we have paid one month upfront and paid two months security deposit, ie approx $15k.

We have signed the lease and collected keys yesterday, the apartment is in terrible condition and landlord refusing to repair the damages int he flat. They did no even clean the bathrooms or kitchen before we moved in!

Is there an allowance for a grace period in the contract, such that if the landlord does not fulfill the tenants requests within the first 30 days that we can break the lease and get the deposit back?

Ie is there any way to break the lease if still within the first 30 day period?

Pease help.....we are new and desperate and have no one else to ask.

Thank you

JR8
Immortal
Immortal

Post by JR8 » Thu, 05 Jul 2012 6:51 am

Sorry to hear about your predicament, but I'm at a loss to understand why you agreed to rent a flat in a 'terrible condition'. Before the discussion goes further it would help if that could be clarified.

Cupcakes2012

Post by Cupcakes2012 » Thu, 05 Jul 2012 9:14 am

There are a few great things about the flat - mainly the size and location, the block is about 10 years old. We viewed the flat and loved the place, on the surface everything looked clean and in perfect working order.

When we collected the keys we realised the oven is broken, the stove top is broken, the showers are filthy, mould on the walls, floors were not polished, not even mopped, the wood was not mopped or polished nor even vacuumed.