Singapore Expats Forum

How often can an European enter without a visa?

Relocating, travelling or planning to make Singapore home? Discuss the criterias, passes or visa that is required.
ClaraLara

How often can an European enter without a visa?

Postby ClaraLara » Tue, 29 May 2012 10:30 pm

Hello there,

I hope I am not doubleposting!If I am, I am really sorry.

My girlfriend will probably move to Singapore in a few month for work. It will take some years there.
As I am still a student I might come for visit often. I read all the notices about the entry but I am still not sure.
I am European, I found out that normally I may stay for 90 days without any visa.
First will I get the 90 day permit at the entry if I have a flight back in 90 days or do I have to go to some other department to get this longer term?
Secondly I am really worried that they might not get my in for about 90 days repeatedly? Like 3 - 4 times a year. Will that be a problem?
I don't see any chances to get a visa for that period. Is there anything I might not have thought about?

I would be really glad if anyone could help me out!
Thanks in advance!

carteki
Editor
Editor

Postby carteki » Tue, 29 May 2012 11:09 pm

If you are a student elsewhere (have evidence) and you come to SG with a return ticket back to your destination - this shouldn't be a problem as long as your time out the country is not just a few days.

They are getting strickter. They stopped my 60 yo mom at the airport because she was flying in on a one way ticket and couldn't give the flight number of the return trip (different airline because we'd used airmiles). We were aslo leaving in 2 days for Malaysia, but as I'd done all the bookings - well, no go there either.

I also got stopped today leaving London on the 2nd half of a return ticket. usually they see my EU ppt and don't bat an eyelid. This time they wouldn't even by the "I'm going to MY by bus" - they wanted to see the ticket.

ClaraLara