Singapore Expats Forum

Voltage converter/transformer question

Discuss about computers & Internet. Including mobile phones, home appliances & other gadgets. Read about Windows security risks or virus updates.
User avatar
globalsign
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon, 17 Jun 2013

Postby globalsign » Thu, 01 Aug 2013 2:55 pm

If you will be moving here you need to fix all your electrical connections and the kind of voltage and wattage your appliances needs. Usually North American products are just 110 volts, here in Asia 220 is standard. It would be better for your to convert your appliances to 220 volts but it will cost you a lot of money.

User avatar
Strong Eagle
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 10726
Joined: Sat, 10 Jul 2004
Location: Off The Red Dot
Contact:

Postby Strong Eagle » Thu, 01 Aug 2013 8:55 pm

globalsign wrote:If you will be moving here you need to fix all your electrical connections and the kind of voltage and wattage your appliances needs. Usually North American products are just 110 volts, here in Asia 220 is standard. It would be better for your to convert your appliances to 220 volts but it will cost you a lot of money.


Just don't bring them. You cannot "convert" most appliances.

naanwar
Member
Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed, 03 Jul 2013

Postby naanwar » Fri, 02 Aug 2013 8:42 am

I was told if the appliance has a motor (hair dryer, vacuum cleaner etc.) best not to bring them.

I pretty much gave away all my stuff to a recent grad.

User avatar
Strong Eagle
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 10726
Joined: Sat, 10 Jul 2004
Location: Off The Red Dot
Contact:

Postby Strong Eagle » Fri, 02 Aug 2013 11:00 am

naanwar wrote:I was told if the appliance has a motor (hair dryer, vacuum cleaner etc.) best not to bring them.

I pretty much gave away all my stuff to a recent grad.


If the appliance doesn't specifically specify dual voltage, don't bring it.

a) You can't replace electric motors.
b) You could replace bulbs in lamps except the base sizes are different.
c) Heating elements in toasters, ovens, etc won't work.
d) Clocks run at the wrong speed... this is why you will never see a dual voltage electric clock.

User avatar
x9200
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9294
Joined: Mon, 07 Sep 2009
Location: Singapore

Postby x9200 » Fri, 02 Aug 2013 11:27 am

Clocks running directly from the power socket got extincted in 60-70s.

User avatar
Strong Eagle
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 10726
Joined: Sat, 10 Jul 2004
Location: Off The Red Dot
Contact:

Postby Strong Eagle » Fri, 02 Aug 2013 9:37 pm

x9200 wrote:Clocks running directly from the power socket got extincted in 60-70s.


I bought two in Malaysia... kept on in my apartment in KL, one in Singapore. Had to leave them both.

Now, I have one in Houston.

User avatar
x9200
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9294
Joined: Mon, 07 Sep 2009
Location: Singapore

Postby x9200 » Sat, 03 Aug 2013 8:56 am

But they are unlikely on a direct power or they still are? It makes completely no sense to manufacture something like this today. A transformer (internal power adapter), quartz resonator, stepper motor and few electronic parts, all cheap.. why would one want to run it directly on 110/220V?

User avatar
Strong Eagle
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 10726
Joined: Sat, 10 Jul 2004
Location: Off The Red Dot
Contact:

Postby Strong Eagle » Sun, 04 Aug 2013 2:38 am

x9200 wrote:But they are unlikely on a direct power or they still are? It makes completely no sense to manufacture something like this today. A transformer (internal power adapter), quartz resonator, stepper motor and few electronic parts, all cheap.. why would one want to run it directly on 110/220V?


Accuracy... stay sync'ed with the frequency. And, mine were digital clocks, 220V powered, with battery backup in case the power failed.

naanwar
Member
Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed, 03 Jul 2013

Postby naanwar » Fri, 20 Sep 2013 3:03 pm

x9200 wrote:Hobbyists heaven for SLT is a gross exaggeration :) It just that you can buy there in one place some components that in some other countries can be bought pretty much everywhere (lots of related shops).

Hidy Ho, as you probably realize I don't know the answer to you specific question neither, so please, please don't get angry with me but I know SLT pretty much and it is small. You go there, go B1 and ground levels only and after probably 15 min you will be done. I reckon there are less than 10 shops there they may have it. If you enter via the main entrance, you may go directly to B1 (old fashion stairs) and you will see in the vicinity of the escalator one shop to the left. They have a lot stuff one level up the components mark including power adapters, converters etc. I would start over there.

Edited to add: and if you turn right from the stairs (B1 level) and go almost to the end of the corridor there is also a small shop over there that specializes in power adapters only.


The name of this store - Hock Heng Electronics Trading. Sim Lim Tower #B1-32. Tel 6294 7742. email - hh.electronics@yahoo.com.
I needed AC - DC adapters for my analog phones and got it from them. 2 ladies run the place. FYI - take your equipment, adapters (with specs), and the user manual with specs to the place. Test it out before paying. Cheers.

User avatar
ecureilx
Immortal
Immortal
Posts: 9808
Joined: Fri, 20 Aug 2010

Re:

Postby ecureilx » Wed, 23 Dec 2015 8:16 am

Dert42 wrote:Hopefully it's ok with admins I post this...
If not pls delete. (Like you wouldn't anyway)

FYI I just bought a 400W step down converter at Sim Lim Tower.
Like $60
2nd level:
Sin Li Electronic Trading
#02-57
Phone: 6339-6619

They had all kinds of stuff like that and were knowledgable about what I needed.


I need to get a step down, 220v-110v, 437 W, 3.8 A.

For something like this : Image

I went to SLT, and was quoted 120 $ for a Soundtech Step Down. The one is 500W.

Is there any other specific shop selling a step down cheaper ?

Will try Sin Li later today anyway.

User avatar
x9200
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9294
Joined: Mon, 07 Sep 2009
Location: Singapore

Re: Voltage converter/transformer question

Postby x9200 » Wed, 23 Dec 2015 8:30 am

The Ebay price for the cheapest 500W transformers is ca S$60 shipment inclusive. Factoring in Singapore reality you may have problems to get it cheaper than $100-120.
Also, I wouldn't use a 500W transformer for a 437W appliance. It may last very short time.
If you are not time pressed I would consider a 1kW transformer and you can get it from Ebay for ca S$100-125,

e.g.
http://www.ebay.com.sg/itm/Home-Convert ... SwNphWbjLu
http://www.ebay.com.sg/itm/ELC-T-1000-1 ... SwbqpTvS8C

User avatar
ecureilx
Immortal
Immortal
Posts: 9808
Joined: Fri, 20 Aug 2010

Re: Voltage converter/transformer question

Postby ecureilx » Wed, 23 Dec 2015 10:08 am

x9200 wrote:The Ebay price for the cheapest 500W transformers is ca S$60 shipment inclusive. Factoring in Singapore reality you may have problems to get it cheaper than $100-120.
Also, I wouldn't use a 500W transformer for a 437W appliance. It may last very short time.
If you are not time pressed I would consider a 1kW transformer and you can get it from Ebay for ca S$100-125,

e.g.
http://www.ebay.com.sg/itm/Home-Convert ... SwNphWbjLu
http://www.ebay.com.sg/itm/ELC-T-1000-1 ... SwbqpTvS8C


I was eyeing Ebay before I realised the shipping costs are almost the same as the item - agreed, transformers aren't light :)

My electricity basics are weak:

So for a 437 Watts, 3.8 Amp, 110V Appliance, a higher wattage Step Down is recommended ? Am I right ?

I know using a lower wattage can lead to more disasters, but I can't remember the repercussions of using a 1KW transformer for a 400 watt appliance.

I was referred another shop in SLT, let me go and see what they say.

User avatar
x9200
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9294
Joined: Mon, 07 Sep 2009
Location: Singapore

Re: Voltage converter/transformer question

Postby x9200 » Wed, 23 Dec 2015 10:15 am

Running a near 500W appliance on a converter where 500W is its limit would be like running an engine all the time full throttle. They are not designed to run continuously this way. It should be more understood as some intermittent, short term, peak load. Besides, the cheap ones are probably crappy and this 500W is likely overoptimistic.

No repercussions for running under higher wattage transformer. It simply provide wider power window but doesn't affect anything in any negative sense (perhaps idle/standby, unloaded power consumption may be slightly higher, but its negligible).

User avatar
ecureilx
Immortal
Immortal
Posts: 9808
Joined: Fri, 20 Aug 2010

Re: Voltage converter/transformer question

Postby ecureilx » Wed, 23 Dec 2015 10:18 am

x9200 wrote:Running a near 500W appliance on a converter where 500W is its limit would be like running an engine all the time full throttle. They are not designed to run continuously this way. It should be more understood as some intermittent, short term, peak load. Besides, the cheap ones are probably crappy and this 500W is likely overoptimistic.


That Makes a lot of Sense !! Thanks for the insight !

I have time till End Jan to get it. Most likely eBay it will be.

Cheers.


  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Computer, Internet, Phone & Electronics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests