Singapore Expats Forum

FYI: Using Google's Search by Image

Discuss about computers & Internet. Including mobile phones, home appliances & other gadgets. Read about Windows security risks or virus updates.
User avatar
JR8
Immortal
Immortal
Posts: 16514
Joined: Wed, 24 Mar 2010
Location: K. Puki Manis

Postby JR8 » Thu, 08 Mar 2012 7:00 pm

Er, what's that going to do? 8-[

Is it going to make pages behave as if they are being viewed on FF?

User avatar
zzm9980
Governor
Governor
Posts: 6841
Joined: Wed, 06 Jul 2011
Location: Once more unto the breach

Postby zzm9980 » Thu, 08 Mar 2012 7:20 pm

JR8 wrote:Er, what's that going to do? 8-[

Is it going to make pages behave as if they are being viewed on FF?


Yes. Basically, your browser reports what version it is to the remote end. Most browsers give the end user a way to change that. This helps various servers determine which Javascripts and such they should run on your end to make the page work. Niche browsers like Opera are good at mimicking other browsers.

Firefox generally doesn't include any more "Security" or anything else than Opera, it's just that 99% of the time the developer's of the bank's site decide they only want to QA and Support X browsers. So they lock out the others just to save money on customers calling the support line with silly questions.

Anyway, try it. If you don't like it, you just change it back. The worst that will happen is that the remote website will render improperly. Misaligned or missing features or something.

User avatar
JR8
Immortal
Immortal
Posts: 16514
Joined: Wed, 24 Mar 2010
Location: K. Puki Manis

Postby JR8 » Thu, 08 Mar 2012 8:09 pm

A-ha, very interesting and makes sense. I'll give it a go and let you know how it goes.


  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Computer, Internet, Phone & Electronics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest