Singapore Expats Forum

Work Visa, Criminal Convictions???

Relocating, travelling or planning to make Singapore home? Discuss the criterias, passes or visa that is required.
__CMC__

Work Visa, Criminal Convictions???

Postby __CMC__ » Wed, 18 Jan 2012 1:48 am

Just stumbled upon this forum whilst browsing the net, i'm hoping someone here could give me some info!

I work in the oil and gas industry and have just received a call about a project in Singapore. I am a UK resident therefore i assume i need some sort of work visa/permit. Problem is about 10 years ago i was convicted for possession of drugs.........

Would i get a visa to work there? Is there any point of me trying as obviously i don't want the company to find out about my past as they have plenty of work to offer in europe.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated

nutnut
Manager
Manager

Postby nutnut » Wed, 18 Jan 2012 8:17 am

I would suggest you wait for a response from MadScientist, he is very good at this kind of information, I would not have the foggiest, although, I will advise that Singapore is very strict on drugs.

I certainly would not suggest forgetting to mention it on your visa application because that will almost certainly land you on the next plane home or in jail when found out.
nutnut

carteki
Editor
Editor

Postby carteki » Wed, 18 Jan 2012 9:18 am

asked and answered many times. Do a search...

__CMC__

Postby __CMC__ » Wed, 18 Jan 2012 3:33 pm

I have searched and to be honest that has just confused me more, as i have found so much conflicting information!

carteki
Editor
Editor

Postby carteki » Wed, 18 Jan 2012 4:37 pm

Long and short of the story

1) Do you need a work permit? Only the company can answer that. Did you ask them?

2) If the answer to 1 is no - then no worries unless they ask about it on your application form. Probably wouldn't lie about it as SG employment laws are minimal at best and you don't want to give them ammunition.