Singapore Expats Forum

DIY home improvement tips needed

Discuss about the latest news & interesting topics, real life experience or other out of topic discussions with locals & expatriates in Singapore.

Splatted
Reporter
Reporter

DIY home improvement tips needed

Postby Splatted » Wed, 07 Dec 2011 1:20 am

Hi all,

Been away from this forum for a while.

My wife and I have finally bought ourselves a HDB flat, an older resale.

One thing I have found about these old constructions are that some of the concreting is "lumpy" in places along the wall. I'm not wanting to throw stones, but the "standards" of getting a flat bedroom wall probably wasn't as high back in the day.

Is there any way of smoothing out the wall? I'm a complete novice at this, so can someone advise what options there are... For instance, can the concrete lumps be sanded out somehow? Other ideas?

Secondly, the previous owner attempted to cover up the lumpy concrete but painting over it with lumpy paint finish, and for the most part they were 'successful'. Only thing is I hate the lumpy paint finish on the wall.

What's the best way to smoothen out the paint? Sand it flat? Strip it somehow?

Any advice is appreciated. Thanks in advance

Mad Scientist
Director
Director

Postby Mad Scientist » Wed, 07 Dec 2011 2:58 am

This is quite a common occurrence with older flats. We had the same issue when we bought an older flats years ago.
You cannot sand it as it will look worse than before. Cementing it will be better but I doubt you can get it flat.
We got our interior decorators to do it and then after the paint went on top of the cement wall. Now matter how much he tried it is just not flat. After four years you can see a small crack on top along the cemented area. Too much hassle to DIY, just not worth the effort. End up I placed a Tall Cabinet in front of the hairline cracked wall..
a DIY shop could give you some tips