I need help with USA Blendtec Blenders. Make it work in SG

Discuss about life in Singapore. Ask about cost of living, housing, travel, etiquette & lifestyle. Share experience & advice with Singaporeans & expat staying in Singapore.
Post Reply
hubbaplus
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue, 25 Oct 2011 3:53 am

I need help with USA Blendtec Blenders. Make it work in SG

Post by hubbaplus » Tue, 25 Oct 2011 4:10 am

My Blendtec Blenders from the USA did not work in Singapore even with a 2000 watt converter.

My blender model is : http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000IL ... 00_details.


My converter is : http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0052F ... 00_details

Did anyone from the USA brought their Blendtec blenders to Singapore and did you get it to work?

Any help will be appreciated greatly.

EasyPeasy
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue, 25 Oct 2011 11:57 am

Post by EasyPeasy » Tue, 25 Oct 2011 4:42 pm

Hi,

Your converter is likely inadequate for the 1560W Blendtec motor.

1) the product was designed only for reactive loads (heaters) and to be used at only 15 minutes at a time (poor heat dissipation and/or under spec'd wiring?). More complicated loads draw more current
2) it looks too compact and priced too low to be adequate. Consider the size of this toroidal 2000VA transformer http://ianamillar.com/blog/wp-content/u ... soTran.jpg
3) the converter power rating may not be the average power output capacity
4) the blender rating might not account for "power factor" inefficiency, meaning you'd need a higher rated transformer

Yet, some steps to aid diagnosis:

1) Switch power outlets to ensure the cause is not the outlet
2) Make sure the switchable socket prongs are fully extended, that there is electrical contact
3) Test with a smaller load to ensure the converter outputs something
4) Test the voltage output of the converter with a voltmeter (take caution)

Last thing you could do is confirm the specs of the blender; make sure current rating is 13 amps and freq. is 50hz vs 60hz.

I predict that you'll need to buy a much heavier (and uglier) counter-top model. At least that way you can use US power tools and gaming consoles at the same time!

I want a working Blendtec too. Let us know what happens.

beppi
Manager
Manager
Posts: 1764
Joined: Thu, 07 Sep 2006 11:15 am
Location: Ahlongistan (O$P$)

Post by beppi » Tue, 25 Oct 2011 4:50 pm

If the converter works (you can check the voltage with a multimeter), and the blender has some kind of electronic control system, the change in frequency (60Hz in USA, 50Hz here) might be the cause. This is very rare, as most electronics is made in China nowadays and designed to be frequency-insensitive, but maybe your blender is still an old-fashioned type. In that case, you're probably out of luck: Frequency converters are VERY expensive and it's a better idea to just buy another blender here.

beppi
Manager
Manager
Posts: 1764
Joined: Thu, 07 Sep 2006 11:15 am
Location: Ahlongistan (O$P$)

Post by beppi » Tue, 25 Oct 2011 4:56 pm

I just had a look at the voltage converter and have to agree to the above poster: This certainly is some kind of cheat and surely not sufficient to convert high power (2000W!?!). Get a proper converter! They weight several kg and cost about $100 at 2000W rating.

User avatar
JR8
Immortal
Immortal
Posts: 16522
Joined: Wed, 24 Mar 2010 12:43 pm
Location: K. Puki Manis

Post by JR8 » Tue, 25 Oct 2011 5:09 pm

Agreed it looks damned puny for what it claims it does. I bought a 2kW up/down transformer in 1999, it cost about £60 and weighed quite a bit.

Like this one...
http://www.world-import.com/tc-2000a-u-d.htm
[weight 24lbs!]

User avatar
Strong Eagle
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11504
Joined: Sat, 10 Jul 2004 12:13 am
Location: Off The Red Dot
Contact:

Post by Strong Eagle » Tue, 25 Oct 2011 9:30 pm

You have junk for your voltage transformer. You don't need to look at anything except the price to know it is junk.

Expect to pay at least S$100 for a proper converter and you ought to buy a converter with twice your maximum rating (for start up current draws). Expect to pay closer to S$200 for a 3000 watt converter.

User avatar
JR8
Immortal
Immortal
Posts: 16522
Joined: Wed, 24 Mar 2010 12:43 pm
Location: K. Puki Manis

Post by JR8 » Tue, 25 Oct 2011 10:23 pm

Agreed.

I bought the 2kW trannie never expecting to draw more than half that through it....

treack
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon, 24 Oct 2011 12:35 am
Location: Malaysia

Blentec

Post by treack » Thu, 27 Oct 2011 1:21 am

It didn't blend afterall.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Staying, Living in Singapore”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests