Singapore Expats Forum

Jobs, jobs, jobs

Discuss about getting a well paid job or career advancement. Ask about salaries, expat packages, CPF & taxes for expatriate.

Newarrival

Jobs, jobs, jobs

Postby Newarrival » Thu, 25 Mar 2004 1:16 am

Hi Everybody,

I would very much like to work and live in Singapore.

I'm Dutch and currently living in Amsterdam and checking out opportunities. I basically would like to know is what the economical state is at the moment and what my changes are.

I have a masters degree in law and have been working at a big 4 company, providing tax advice to HR departments of international companies regarding their expats, for the last 4,5 years. The work ranged from personal tax advice to ceo's or young expats (as I hope to be), to structuring and implementing epxat schemes for HR departments of international companies. The language of communication is mainly English. The work is quite diverse and even fun, but I feel it is time to move on. I do not necessarily want to remain in tax, HR or recruitment has always had my interest too.

Therefore, does anyone know what my changes would be, are companies employing foreigners at the moment, is this a good time to make the move?

Postby Guest » Thu, 25 Mar 2004 3:20 am

Hi New,

How come Singapore of all places? Any specific reason? It's a great country, sure, just going through a bit of a rough patch right now. Picking up steam, however, so things are looking up.

Not too sure about the details; JP will come along in a short while and make short thrift of your post, so no worries. All's I know is that you're in for some tough love, I'm afraid. I myself am moving to Singapore for keeps in August. I'm taking my business with me, which should help me get a PR. Without a job, place to stay, cash or prospects, it's going to be jolly difficult, I reckon.

What are the odds of getting sent by your current employer? Slight, I presume.