Singapore Expats Forum

what should i do? wants US citizenship in NUS now

Relocating, travelling or planning to make Singapore home? Discuss the criterias, passes or visa that is required.
amuletheart

what should i do? wants US citizenship in NUS now

Postby amuletheart » Fri, 21 Oct 2011 12:02 pm

I have dual citizenship - the Singapore Citizenship and the US Citizenship. Frankly, I would like the US Citizenship because i am intending to further study in the states after that. However, problem is i am only in my 3rd year in NUS now, which means i still have a year and a half before i can complete my US education. but i have to denounce one of the citizenship early next year. The problem is that chances if i have to denounce the US citizenship because if i dont, i cannot complete my university education.

Is there any loop holes eg like apply for PR or something that can enable me to stay but yet hold on to the US citizenship? i tried reading up but it seems that PR and study permits are so difficult to obtain.

Do you all have any advice? Thank you so much. I just set an account here to ask this question :/

zzm9980
Governor
Governor

Postby zzm9980 » Fri, 21 Oct 2011 2:35 pm

I'm a little curious how this works, since I'm not entirely clear myself... Where you born American or Singaporean? How long have you been the 'other'?

But let's say you choose to renounce your US citizenship.

Have you ever earned any income, anywhere in the world, and/or have any financial assets? If so, have you filed and paid your proper US income taxes?

From what I've read, you have to essentially prove you have you have never cheated the IRS on taxs and are fully paid up in order to renounce US citizenship. If not, there are heavy fines. If you don't pay those, well, don't try to travel to North America (or parts of Europe) anytime for the rest of your life.

See Section E: (or the whole thing)
http://travel.state.gov/law/citizenship ... p_776.html