Renovating Condo. Induction hob advice needed

Discuss about life in Singapore. Ask about cost of living, housing, travel, etiquette & lifestyle. Share experience & advice with Singaporeans & expat staying in Singapore.
Post Reply
queenie71
Regular
Regular
Posts: 60
Joined: Tue, 09 Jun 2009 11:35 am
Location: Singapore

Renovating Condo. Induction hob advice needed

Post by queenie71 » Thu, 20 Oct 2011 7:12 pm

Am at final stages of kitchen reno design and finding that the inudction hob we have chosen needs 30 amp and apparently our condo only supplys 20 amp.
Have had 2 conflicting view from electricians - one says yes to doing some work on circuit box to upgrade to 30amp but the other says not to do it as could cause safety hazard... I am inclined to play it safe.

But now have a problem as all 4 zone inductions have 30 amp requirement.


Am now looking for 2 domino hobs which only require 15 amps each...
I take it that I can use all hobs at same time and there won't be a power issue?

Does anyone have any experience or advice to share?
I really am getting quite desperate as this has taken hours and hours to sort out and it doesn't help to get conflicting advice...

User avatar
JR8
Immortal
Immortal
Posts: 16522
Joined: Wed, 24 Mar 2010 12:43 pm
Location: K. Puki Manis

Post by JR8 » Thu, 20 Oct 2011 7:38 pm

Can I ask why you want an induction hob so badly? Are there no other viable options?

User avatar
BillyB
Manager
Manager
Posts: 1807
Joined: Fri, 23 Jul 2010 11:01 pm
Location: My laptop

Post by BillyB » Thu, 20 Oct 2011 8:14 pm

JR8 wrote:Can I ask why you want an induction hob so badly? Are there no other viable options?
Inductions hobs rock, Delia. Ceramic hobs suck.

Except of course when you don't realise they are induction hobs for 2 weeks, neither do any of your neighbours, and you look like a complete twat when you call the service guys out and he tells you that you need a special pan for it to work!!


:oops:

User avatar
JR8
Immortal
Immortal
Posts: 16522
Joined: Wed, 24 Mar 2010 12:43 pm
Location: K. Puki Manis

Post by JR8 » Thu, 20 Oct 2011 8:18 pm

Name me one professional chef, pro kitchen or TV cooking show where they use anything other than gas.

I rest my case.

p.s. Yes your case of inductionhobitis was pretty funny :P

User avatar
BillyB
Manager
Manager
Posts: 1807
Joined: Fri, 23 Jul 2010 11:01 pm
Location: My laptop

Post by BillyB » Thu, 20 Oct 2011 8:22 pm

JR8 wrote:Name me one professional chef, pro kitchen or TV cooking show where they use anything other than gas.

I rest my case.

p.s. Yes your case of inductionhobitis was pretty funny :P
Yes, I agree. Gas is the best for control but induction hobs are quite good.

I don't think the OP is gonna be hosting ready, steady, cook just yet......

User avatar
JR8
Immortal
Immortal
Posts: 16522
Joined: Wed, 24 Mar 2010 12:43 pm
Location: K. Puki Manis

Post by JR8 » Thu, 20 Oct 2011 8:29 pm

BillyB wrote:
JR8 wrote:Name me one professional chef, pro kitchen or TV cooking show where they use anything other than gas.

I rest my case.

p.s. Yes your case of inductionhobitis was pretty funny :P
Yes, I agree. Gas is the best for control but induction hobs are quite good.

I don't think the OP is gonna be hosting ready, steady, cook just yet......
Haway man, will ya just give over and concede tha point :)

Hob/range cooking with electricity, is like trying to cut someone's hair using a letter opener.

x9200
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9894
Joined: Mon, 07 Sep 2009 4:06 pm
Location: Singapore

Post by x9200 » Thu, 20 Oct 2011 9:26 pm

For me the only true benefits over the gas are the look and in some cases easiness of cleaning.

User avatar
JR8
Immortal
Immortal
Posts: 16522
Joined: Wed, 24 Mar 2010 12:43 pm
Location: K. Puki Manis

Post by JR8 » Thu, 20 Oct 2011 9:29 pm

x9200 wrote:For me the only true benefits over the gas are the look and in some cases easiness of cleaning.
Precisely, both of which shrink into total insignificance vs the complete control that cooking with gas brings!!!



p.s. I am currently stuck with a halogen hob, and I HATE HATE :x HATE I HATE IT!!!!!! :x :x

queenie71
Regular
Regular
Posts: 60
Joined: Tue, 09 Jun 2009 11:35 am
Location: Singapore

Post by queenie71 » Fri, 21 Oct 2011 7:37 pm

I have cooked with gas forever and never thought I would choose anything else until I stayed at a friend's place and cooked with induction - it is brilliant. I agree, maybe not for everything so I might now be doing domino induction, domino gas...

I am Chinese and my Dad is a chef - I never thought that there could be a better option to gas...

But then I did a lot of research and actually it seems that a lot of European professional chefs actually fully endorse induction too... just not for Asian style cooking...

Pros - my kitchen will be much cooler - I die of heat when cooking 2 or 3 pots.... Cleanliness - much easier to clean... and aesthetically, I love the look of the induction hob in a modern kitchen... so, there you have it...

The only trouble is my Dad will not know how to use it when he comes to visit ...

:cry: :cry: :cry:

User avatar
JR8
Immortal
Immortal
Posts: 16522
Joined: Wed, 24 Mar 2010 12:43 pm
Location: K. Puki Manis

Post by JR8 » Fri, 21 Oct 2011 8:00 pm

It's all wrong - you should trust your dad :)

Reminds me of visiting my parents and my mum (award winning chef) asking me to do a lovely light seafood marinara sauce recipe I'd recently been working on.

So come the day. I was reminded that she only has cast iron pots and pans. Then I was reminded her hob is halogen. Jeez kin hell! I'd just about got a pan up to cooking temperature after half an hour or so [sigh]. Bloody disaster. Such complete blunt instruments that you loose any chance of timing, layered textures...

I'd be interested to see which chefs endorse electric, well, outside of selling their signature pan ranges of course...

beppi
Manager
Manager
Posts: 1764
Joined: Thu, 07 Sep 2006 11:15 am
Location: Ahlongistan (O$P$)

Post by beppi » Fri, 21 Oct 2011 11:32 pm

Two 15A-devices will still consume 30A together (if switched on at the same time)
So, if your condo only provides a 20A connection, you cannot use more than that without upgrading, no matter whether the current is distributed into two hobs or one.

x9200
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9894
Joined: Mon, 07 Sep 2009 4:06 pm
Location: Singapore

Post by x9200 » Sat, 22 Oct 2011 8:02 am

Good beppi noticed nobody answered the OP's main question :)
Yes, 2x15A is still not going to work with a 20A fuse unless you could discipline yourself to that extent to always remember to use only 1 hob at the time but then it probably makes not too much sense.

User avatar
Strong Eagle
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11504
Joined: Sat, 10 Jul 2004 12:13 am
Location: Off The Red Dot
Contact:

Re: Renovating Condo. Induction hob advice needed

Post by Strong Eagle » Sat, 22 Oct 2011 8:18 am

queenie71 wrote:Am at final stages of kitchen reno design and finding that the inudction hob we have chosen needs 30 amp and apparently our condo only supplys 20 amp.
Have had 2 conflicting view from electricians - one says yes to doing some work on circuit box to upgrade to 30amp but the other says not to do it as could cause safety hazard... I am inclined to play it safe.

But now have a problem as all 4 zone inductions have 30 amp requirement.


Am now looking for 2 domino hobs which only require 15 amps each...
I take it that I can use all hobs at same time and there won't be a power issue?

Does anyone have any experience or advice to share?
I really am getting quite desperate as this has taken hours and hours to sort out and it doesn't help to get conflicting advice...
There is no reason that you cannot run 30 amp line from the main circuit box. However, you need to be aware of the total load available from the circuit box... around here it is usually 100 to 120 amps. So, if you have a dryer and air cons, you should add the fuse/circuit breaker values and be aware that you might not be able to run everything at once.

At 30 amps that hob will draw 6000 watts and will cost you about S$1.50 per hour to run.

x9200
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9894
Joined: Mon, 07 Sep 2009 4:06 pm
Location: Singapore

Post by x9200 » Sat, 22 Oct 2011 8:42 am

From the main circuit box she probably can but from what she already has in the kitchen? The electrician should take a look at the wiring between the box and the kitchen to see if this can handle such current. A mistake here can be very costly.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Staying, Living in Singapore”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests