Singapore Expats Forum

How to work in Singapore?

Relocating, travelling or planning to make Singapore home? Discuss the criterias, passes or visa that is required.
hanabie

How to work in Singapore?

Postby hanabie » Tue, 18 Oct 2011 3:34 am

Hi there,

I'm currently living in the United States as an International Student. I'm a mechanical engineer graduated from a reputable university. My school is not an ivy league school but it is ranked top 10 best engineering program in the nation. I only have 2.7 GPA which is very low. However, I have passed Fundamental of Engineering exam which will be used to apply professional engineer license later on. I hope that helps to increase my opportunity.

I have been working full time for almost 6 months in US as an engineer intern. However, I don't really feel that this will be my dream job. I have almost zero chance for big companies in US. So I have decided to move to Singapore to find a better employer.

Anyway, I'm very interested in working in Singapore. I want to know where I should start. Please help. Thank you.

1. Should I apply LPR first? what is the chance of getting one? slim?
2. any other way?

my parents lives in Indo. That's also a reason I'm coming back.

hanabie

Postby hanabie » Tue, 18 Oct 2011 4:22 am

Should I apply EPEC first? When will be the best time to apply? 6 months before coming to SG? Do I have to apply for LVPT after EPEC is approved?
I'm not really interested of getting any PR status. I just want to work and get some good experience. My current interest is working under very experienced engineers especially in equipments for petroleum business.

I got a job offer in Singapore. The company's name is KSenergy. However I rejected because the salary did not make sense at all. I can not survive. I love the jobs description but just not the salary.

JR8
Immortal
Immortal

Postby JR8 » Tue, 18 Oct 2011 5:05 am

You need to do MASTER, then you power candidate ah

medcheckonsat