Singapore Expats

Advice for Experienced I.T. Business Analyst

Discuss about getting a well paid job or career advancement. Ask about salaries, expat packages, CPF & taxes for expatriate.
YankStuckinSuiss
Regular
Regular

Advice for Experienced I.T. Business Analyst

Post by YankStuckinSuiss » Tue, 20 Sep 2011 1:11 am

Hi...I'm guessing you guys have been asked this question before, and I've read some previous threads, but here it goes...

I have 9 years experience doing I.T. support database applications support, often but not limited to help desk environments (level 2 or 3 support/high level) at a global level, with internal and external clients. I have also interacted closely with vendors. I have experience working in Asia, Europe, and in the U.S. I'm American, but I am a visible non-white and non-East Asian minority...

What do you think my chances are at getting a job only speaking English in a support environment? I do speak low intermediate Mandarin, but am illiterate.

I'm currently working for a Pharma Multinational in Switzerland, but very much want to go back to Asia. I've worked in Japan before and studied in China (Shanghai) a decade ago.
"The reasonable man adapts himself to the world; the unreasonable one persists in trying to adapt the world to himself. Therefore all progress depends on the unreasonable man."

-George Bernard Shaw

ecureilx
Immortal
Immortal

Re: Advice for Experienced I.T. Business Analyst

Post by ecureilx » Tue, 20 Sep 2011 8:25 am

what makes you think that you must know Mandarin to survive in Singapore ??

Or did I miss something ?? :( :(

As for the job opportunities, that's fair play : if you are worth it, you will find your dream job ..

YankStuckinSuiss
Regular
Regular

Post by YankStuckinSuiss » Tue, 20 Sep 2011 1:10 pm

I know I don't have to know Mandarin to survive, but I thought it might be a plus on a job application.