Singapore Expats Forum

Rugby World Cup - where is best to watch England matches?

Post here to organise an event, gathering, meetup, party. Search for expats from your country, sports partners or meet new friends here!
RDD

Rugby World Cup - where is best to watch England matches?

Postby RDD » Wed, 31 Aug 2011 9:50 am

I'm new in Singapore so not sure where the best spot to watch the England RWC games will be when the tournament kicks off in a few days. Does anyone know where the English Rugby fans will go to watch matches?

Thanks!

BillyB
Manager
Manager

Postby BillyB » Wed, 31 Aug 2011 12:41 pm

Boat Quay, Clarke Quay, Chijmes etc. They all have big screens and I would have thought will be showing the matches, on at least one of the screens, if they doesn't clash with the football.....

RDD

Postby RDD » Thu, 01 Sep 2011 1:51 pm

Thanks, Billy B, but I was really looking for names of specific bars for England fans.

There was a interesting article on expatliving.sg about generally watching the RWC if anyone else is interested:

http://www.expatliving.sg/article/body- ... ugust-2011

BillyB
Manager
Manager

Postby BillyB » Thu, 01 Sep 2011 3:44 pm

RDD wrote:Thanks, Billy B, but I was really looking for names of specific bars for England fans.

There was a interesting article on expatliving.sg about generally watching the RWC if anyone else is interested:

http://www.expatliving.sg/article/body- ... ugust-2011

Looks like you've find a few other options!! I don't think there are many 'England' bars per se. You'll usually find quite a mix of different supporters in most of the bars above and also the ones in the article.

There isn't the same sort of intense rivalry/hatred towards other teams as there is back home, so it's quite amicable when watching sport on TV in a bar etc, and usually you'll get a bit of banter flying round.

RDD

Postby RDD » Thu, 01 Sep 2011 3:54 pm