Singapore Expats Forum

Home broadband process

Discuss about computers & Internet. Including mobile phones, home appliances & other gadgets. Read about Windows security risks or virus updates.
rohanaus
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun, 07 Aug 2011

Home broadband process

Postby rohanaus » Sun, 07 Aug 2011 2:18 pm

Hi,

Just trying to understand the process of getting home broadband set up in the apartment. Not interested in getting a package of TV/mobile/phone etc, just want to get ADSL broadband (around $50 worth per month) set up in the apartment. What steps do I need to take? Do I need to activate the home phone line and how?

Also, from looking at the major telco's in Singapore, I noticed that the majority of contracts are 24 month based. Is anyone aware of any contracts out there that are around 6 months to 1 year?

Thanks for your help.
Cheers

User avatar
taxico
Director
Director
Posts: 3188
Joined: Sat, 10 May 2008
Location: Existential dilemma!

Postby taxico » Sun, 07 Aug 2011 6:15 pm

if you want adsl, you'll need a working phone line. i think that's $100 a year or $25 a quarter.

24-month contracts are becoming the norm these days. they used to be 12 month long..

i signed a 12-month contract recently for cable tv that comes with free cable internet.

a few months before that, i also signed a 12-month mobile internet contract (didn't work well at my place, so i went with cable).

if you take an "unsubsidized" subscription package, you'll probably have a 3-month service commitment.

you would probably be better off checking out the telco's website for what's available, or calling their customer service agents up (1626, 1627, 1633) to ask specifically for a 6 or 12 month contract - that's what i did and they told me what was available...
Aut viam ad caelum inveniam aut faciam

rohanaus
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun, 07 Aug 2011

Postby rohanaus » Sun, 07 Aug 2011 7:05 pm

Thanks for the reply. Line rental seems pretty steep! Perhaps cable broadband is the way to go. How recently did you arrange your cable tv with cable broadband package and which telco did you go through? I only have one cable point in the apartment, would that pose an issue if I were to get cable TV and cable broadband?

Thanks for your help.
Cheers

User avatar
taxico
Director
Director
Posts: 3188
Joined: Sat, 10 May 2008
Location: Existential dilemma!

Postby taxico » Sun, 07 Aug 2011 8:52 pm

if you have a cable point in the house, all you need is a wireless router to configure as an access point and then plug it into your cable model.

i went with starhub.

i called them, asked them to tell me if they had a promo for a 6, 12 or 18 month contract. the 12 month one sounded good, so i went down to (one of) their store and signed some papers and brought the equipment home.

almost everything was plug and play.
Aut viam ad caelum inveniam aut faciam


  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Computer, Internet, Phone & Electronics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests