Singapore Expats Forum

Airport wi-fi

Discuss about the latest news & interesting topics, real life experience or other out of topic discussions with locals & expatriates in Singapore.

User avatar
JR8
Immortal
Immortal
Posts: 16514
Joined: Wed, 24 Mar 2010
Location: K. Puki Manis

Airport wi-fi

Postby JR8 » Tue, 02 Aug 2011 1:28 pm

Any reasson they require a password for the airport wi-fi?

Usually they want to take a copy of your passport/ID too before giving you the PW, though today at the budget terminal they did not.

Would it be cynical to presume that in using their wi-fi they take a copy of all the data off your computer/phone?

User avatar
durain
Director
Director
Posts: 3666
Joined: Thu, 23 Aug 2007
Location: Location: Location: Location:

Postby durain » Tue, 02 Aug 2011 4:24 pm

changi?

User avatar
nakatago
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 8333
Joined: Tue, 01 Sep 2009
Location: Sister Margaret’s School for Wayward Children
Contact:

Postby nakatago » Tue, 02 Aug 2011 4:47 pm

What's the access point? I've always used Wireless@SG in the Budget Terminal (in Changi) and haven't noticed other access points.

User avatar
JR8
Immortal
Immortal
Posts: 16514
Joined: Wed, 24 Mar 2010
Location: K. Puki Manis

Postby JR8 » Tue, 02 Aug 2011 5:08 pm

nakatago wrote:What's the access point? I've always used Wireless@SG in the Budget Terminal (in Changi) and haven't noticed other access points.


Yes Durain, Changi Budget T.

Doesn't Wireless@SG require you to input your home number? It all smacks of them wanting to keep a tab on who is accessing what.

I've chucked the access details now, but as a visitor you (from memory) connect via 'M1/Starhub' or similar

User avatar
nakatago
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 8333
Joined: Tue, 01 Sep 2009
Location: Sister Margaret’s School for Wayward Children
Contact:

Postby nakatago » Tue, 02 Aug 2011 5:15 pm

JR8 wrote:
nakatago wrote:What's the access point? I've always used Wireless@SG in the Budget Terminal (in Changi) and haven't noticed other access points.


Yes Durain, Changi Budget T.

Doesn't Wireless@SG require you to input your home number? It all smacks of them wanting to keep a tab on who is accessing what.

I've chucked the access details now, but as a visitor you (from memory) connect via 'M1/Starhub' or similar


Well, they require IDs even if you're just buying a prepaid SIM so tracking is not 'unexpected.'

User avatar
JR8
Immortal
Immortal
Posts: 16514
Joined: Wed, 24 Mar 2010
Location: K. Puki Manis

Postby JR8 » Tue, 02 Aug 2011 5:29 pm

nakatago wrote:
JR8 wrote:
nakatago wrote:What's the access point? I've always used Wireless@SG in the Budget Terminal (in Changi) and haven't noticed other access points.


Yes Durain, Changi Budget T.

Doesn't Wireless@SG require you to input your home number? It all smacks of them wanting to keep a tab on who is accessing what.

I've chucked the access details now, but as a visitor you (from memory) connect via 'M1/Starhub' or similar


Well, they require IDs even if you're just buying a prepaid SIM so tracking is not 'unexpected.'


Ok, but other airports don't do this, so why does Changi?

User avatar
nakatago
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 8333
Joined: Tue, 01 Sep 2009
Location: Sister Margaret’s School for Wayward Children
Contact:

Postby nakatago » Tue, 02 Aug 2011 5:54 pm

JR8 wrote:
nakatago wrote:
JR8 wrote:
nakatago wrote:What's the access point? I've always used Wireless@SG in the Budget Terminal (in Changi) and haven't noticed other access points.


Yes Durain, Changi Budget T.

Doesn't Wireless@SG require you to input your home number? It all smacks of them wanting to keep a tab on who is accessing what.

I've chucked the access details now, but as a visitor you (from memory) connect via 'M1/Starhub' or similar


Well, they require IDs even if you're just buying a prepaid SIM so tracking is not 'unexpected.'


Ok, but other airports don't do this, so why does Changi?


They're not Singapore.

User avatar
x9200
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9301
Joined: Mon, 07 Sep 2009
Location: Singapore

Postby x9200 » Tue, 02 Aug 2011 6:19 pm

JR8 wrote:Ok, but other airports don't do this, so why does Changi?

You are saying you are still surprised with all the irrelevant information they request daily? :) Your race to register a warranty card? DOB of your uncle you specified as the next of kin? Salary when you try to pay-subscribe to some of the journals? Monitoring the Internet access in one of the biggest airports seems at least to some extent justifiable.

User avatar
JR8
Immortal
Immortal
Posts: 16514
Joined: Wed, 24 Mar 2010
Location: K. Puki Manis

Postby JR8 » Tue, 02 Aug 2011 7:44 pm

I am hopping around in SEA for a month, so I suppose I have a back-drop against which to contrast it.

The fact is that requiring wi-fi users to be identifiable via hideously complex unique alphanumeric passwords and usernames does not come over as very 'first world'.

Am I surprised to find this in SG, well perhaps not. Am I surprised that they haven't figured how bureaucratic, inconvenient and archaic this is for visitors.... well, maybe not too!

User avatar
x9200
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9301
Joined: Mon, 07 Sep 2009
Location: Singapore

Postby x9200 » Tue, 02 Aug 2011 7:56 pm

Yeap, but on the other hand in many if not majority of the airports to get the access the users are to be identifiable via hideously complex unique numeric passwords known as the credit card number.

Going to visit Tioman? :)

User avatar
JR8
Immortal
Immortal
Posts: 16514
Joined: Wed, 24 Mar 2010
Location: K. Puki Manis

Postby JR8 » Tue, 02 Aug 2011 8:09 pm

Don't recall the last time I had to pay for airport wi-fi.

Tioman? Well Mr. Mod, you can see precisely where I am can't you :)

User avatar
x9200
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9301
Joined: Mon, 07 Sep 2009
Location: Singapore

Postby x9200 » Tue, 02 Aug 2011 8:35 pm

Can not. Shows your location as Terengganu, Kemaman so you can be equally well in Tioman and Redang, Redang - no problem, Tioman - I will be p*****-**f.

User avatar
BillyB
Manager
Manager
Posts: 1807
Joined: Fri, 23 Jul 2010
Location: My laptop

Re: Airport wi-fi

Postby BillyB » Tue, 02 Aug 2011 8:51 pm

JR8 wrote:Any reasson they require a password for the airport wi-fi?

Usually they want to take a copy of your passport/ID too before giving you the PW, though today at the budget terminal they did not.

Would it be cynical to presume that in using their wi-fi they take a copy of all the data off your computer/phone?


Maybe your hard drive full of porn raised a red flag?!

User avatar
JR8
Immortal
Immortal
Posts: 16514
Joined: Wed, 24 Mar 2010
Location: K. Puki Manis

Postby JR8 » Tue, 02 Aug 2011 9:51 pm

x9200 wrote:Can not. Shows your location as Terengganu, Kemaman so you can be equally well in Tioman and Redang, Redang - no problem, Tioman - I will be p*****-**f.



Sorry to disappoint you X9 ;)


p.s. Good job I can't travel with my desktop Bunter :)

User avatar
boffenl
Reporter
Reporter
Posts: 565
Joined: Wed, 20 Dec 2006
Location: Clementi all the way baby!

Postby boffenl » Wed, 03 Aug 2011 9:52 am

I agree, after hoscotching across US earlier this year, I had free and easy access in Denver, Missoula, LA and Dallas airports. No codes and no passwords. But hitting Changi I wanted to update Facebook and had to wait until I got home since I didn't want to wait for a password to log into my SG Wireless account. It's a pain, but not unexpected in SG.

It's the little things that bug the crap out of you!


  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “General Discussions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests