Singapore Expats

China girlfriend

Relocating, travelling or planning to make Singapore home? Discuss the criterias, passes or visa that is required.
keisatsu

China girlfriend

Post by keisatsu » Sat, 30 Jul 2011 1:06 pm

Hi all,

I am a newbie in this forum and I would like to share my situation with everyone and hope some people could give me some advice on what I can do.

I am male,31 years of age this year, born and bred in Singapore (Citizen, served NS), and My girlfriend, 23 is from China. I have been together with her for 3 years now. She studied in Singapore for 3 years in a local school, Nanyang academy of fine arts, with a tuition grant from the ministry of education, so after graduation (diploma) she is supposed to work here for minimum 3 years.

After graduation, her student pass was cancelled and she was granted a svp to look for a job, and she found a job soon after. Now, this was were the complications started. After a few interviews at different companies, there was a job offer from one of them and she accepted the job and they applied an S Pass for her which was approved. What happened later was that we found out that the company name on her S Pass was not the same as the place where she worked at, and worse, the boss made her withdraw $500 every month to return to him (personally in cash) therefore making her pay less than the $1800 minimum for S Pass holders at that time. (this was late last year). There was also no contract, agreement, or any letter of appointment whatsoever.