Singapore Expats

What are my rights if I did not sign a lease agreement?

Discuss about where to live, renting a property, tenancy issues, property trend and property investment in Singapore.
birdie_nerdie

What are my rights if I did not sign a lease agreement?

Post by birdie_nerdie » Wed, 27 Jul 2011 9:19 pm

So I have been renting a room in a multi-room apartment for a few months. I really do not like it here and am looking to move, with a new place secured.

Only one housemate is on the lease. I never signed a lease or any contract. In fact, when I moved in, the agent told me if I left I had to give two months notice to the lease holder.

I did originally think I would stay here for one year and expressed that via email.

So, I have given more than two months notice of leaving to all parties. I even said I would help to find a new housemate by posting ads, etc. But now the agent says I can only move out if I find a replacement by my move out date. Am I obligated to do this? Or responsible for rent in anyway after I move out?

Just need a little help understanding what I am legally responsible for. Thanks!

Search By

BillyB
Manager
Manager

Post by BillyB » Wed, 27 Jul 2011 9:59 pm

No singed tenancy agreement, no obligation on your behalf. Tell the agent to stick his demands up his ar*e and to stop taking the p*ss out of you and taking advantage of your kind nature.

He wants you to do his job for him, and the whole set-up sounds dodgy in the first place. Check his agent number to check if he is actually an approved agent.

Do they have a deposit from you?

birdie_nerdie

Post by birdie_nerdie » Wed, 27 Jul 2011 10:24 pm

Yes they do have a deposit, for which I have a receipt.

I guess the best thing to do will be to invite the agent over so we can discuss this in person. But I definitely never signed anything. There was never even a formal letter of intent, just an email saying I planned to stay one year.