Singapore Expats Forum

PR and tuition grant

Relocating, travelling or planning to make Singapore home? Discuss the criterias, passes or visa that is required.
desdek

PR and tuition grant

Postby desdek » Sun, 24 Jul 2011 7:07 pm

Hello,
I am a Singapore PR having finished serving 2 yrs 4 months of national service. i am considering of renouncing my PR, but i have a bond of 3 years due to tuition grant for undergraduate study from MOE. Is it possible to give up my PR and serve the 3 years bond? In other words, will ICA give me a employment pass for completing my bond? Currently, I am a graduate student in a local University.

The reason that i want to give up my PR is that i have to go for ICTs/IPPTs yearly if i am a PR.

Kevin86

Postby Kevin86 » Sun, 24 Jul 2011 7:52 pm

I am also a PR who has taken the tuition grant as well. The tuition grant is also extended to none-pr foreign students so technically it has nothing to do with your PR status. Foreign students who are obliged to work in Singapore for 3 years are not guaranteed with an employment pass simply because of that obligation.

desdek

Postby desdek » Sun, 24 Jul 2011 8:04 pm

Foreign students are guaranteed the employment pass. Or else how are they going to serve the bond? From https://tgonline.moe.gov.sg/tgis/files/SOA-FAQ.pdf
Q15 Do I have to surrender my student pass after graduation? How can I remain in Singapore to seek employment?
Upon expiry of your student pass, you can apply for a Long Term Visit Pass or Social Visit Pass at Immigration & Checkpoints Authority (ICA) to remain in Singapore to seek employment. Once you have secured an employment, you will be issued with an employment pass and your old pass will be cancelled.

But it seems unclear if PR who give up their PR status will be guaranteed the employment pass.

sundaymorningstaple

Postby sundaymorningstaple » Sun, 24 Jul 2011 8:44 pm

Just do the IPPT. Otherwise you are just a wuss! [-X :console:

desdek