Singapore Expats

Sharing an apartment with opposite sex

Discuss about life in Singapore. Ask about cost of living, housing, travel, etiquette & lifestyle. Share experience & advice with Singaporeans & expat staying in Singapore.
ninjasuite

Sharing an apartment with opposite sex

Post by ninjasuite » Mon, 18 Jul 2011 11:23 am

Hi guys I am a student and will go to Singapore to continue my study, and I think to share 4 room apartment with 1 male and 2 female friends whose also student ( each person had their own room) so the cost would be cheaper and I think it's nice to live with people I already know. So I want to ask you guys if living with opposite sex is allowed in Singapore? Thanks :)

nakatago

Re: Sharing an apartment with opposite sex

Post by nakatago » Mon, 18 Jul 2011 11:29 am

ninjasuite wrote:Hi guys I am a student and will go to Singapore to continue my study, and I think to share 4 room apartment with 1 male and 2 female friends whose also student ( each person had their own room) so the cost would be cheaper and I think it's nice to live with people I already know. So I want to ask you guys if living with opposite sex is allowed in Singapore? Thanks :)
Yes.

As much as some things in Singapore are considered too prudish, living arrangements isn't one of them (ergo, you can live with other genders who are not your relatives and the police won't mind).

Just remember to be good, aye?
"A quokka is what would happen if there was an anime about kangaroos."

JayCee
Reporter
Reporter

Re: Sharing an apartment with opposite sex

Post by JayCee » Mon, 18 Jul 2011 11:49 am

ninjasuite wrote:Hi guys I am a student and will go to Singapore to continue my study, and I think to share 4 room apartment with 1 male and 2 female friends whose also student ( each person had their own room) so the cost would be cheaper and I think it's nice to live with people I already know. So I want to ask you guys if living with opposite sex is allowed in Singapore? Thanks :)