Singapore Expats Forum

Cable tv help

Discuss about computers & Internet. Including mobile phones, home appliances & other gadgets. Read about Windows security risks or virus updates.
glenm
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon, 14 Jan 2008

Cable tv help

Postby glenm » Thu, 14 Jul 2011 5:56 pm

Hi,
I have just moved here and I am still waiting for my EP to be approved. Means I cant get starhub cable or internet connected yet.

I am going crazy watching channel 5 and no internet at home.

Can someone offer any advice?

Can anyone tell me if I was to borrow my friends Starhub box can I plug it in at my house and will it work? Alternatively if my friend got a 2nd box could I plug that in at my house and would it work?

I seem to have all the correct scv cables and plugs etc.

Thanks
GM

User avatar
sundaymorningstaple
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 35115
Joined: Thu, 11 Nov 2004
Location: Still Fishing!
Contact:

Postby sundaymorningstaple » Thu, 14 Jul 2011 6:27 pm

Nope, won't work until they turn on the service. Can always watch channel 8 or channel U. :wink:

Sounds like you might be renting illegally if you don't have any sort of residency permit. Hope that's not the case.

glenm
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon, 14 Jan 2008

Postby glenm » Fri, 15 Jul 2011 10:13 am

Thanks for the info. New company i working for has the lease so all good as I am coming and going a lot :)

User avatar
sundaymorningstaple
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 35115
Joined: Thu, 11 Nov 2004
Location: Still Fishing!
Contact:

Postby sundaymorningstaple » Fri, 15 Jul 2011 10:41 am

You are working without a valid employment pass? Now it's really getting deep! :o

User avatar
taxico
Director
Director
Posts: 3190
Joined: Sat, 10 May 2008
Location: Existential dilemma!

Re: Cable tv help

Postby taxico » Fri, 15 Jul 2011 10:12 pm

glenm wrote:Can anyone tell me if I was to borrow my friends Starhub box can I plug it in at my house and will it work? Alternatively if my friend got a 2nd box could I plug that in at my house and would it work?


it will work, but it's against their terms of use and your friend might get into trouble if it's detected (yes, it's detectable) and reported.

you're better off just getting prepaid mobile broadband and using that for now. there're a few threads about it in this sub-forum.

otherwise, just buy a pirate cable box instead. yes, it's illegal, and yes, it's detectable too, but you knew that.
Aut viam ad caelum inveniam aut faciam

c0unterp0int
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat, 16 Jul 2011

Postby c0unterp0int » Sat, 16 Jul 2011 12:44 am

Sorry to hijack the thread, but I am in need of some advice from taxico and am unable to send a PM. Could you please email me at c0unterp0int at hotmail dot com. Thanks sooo much!!! :)

User avatar
x9200
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9314
Joined: Mon, 07 Sep 2009
Location: Singapore

Re: Cable tv help

Postby x9200 » Sat, 16 Jul 2011 2:51 pm

taxico wrote:
glenm wrote:Can anyone tell me if I was to borrow my friends Starhub box can I plug it in at my house and will it work? Alternatively if my friend got a 2nd box could I plug that in at my house and would it work?

it will work, but it's against their terms of use and your friend might get into trouble if it's detected (yes, it's detectable) and reported.

It MAY work but not necessarily will. Sometimes starhub needs to activate the local connection.

User avatar
nakatago
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 8333
Joined: Tue, 01 Sep 2009
Location: Sister Margaret’s School for Wayward Children
Contact:

Re: Cable tv help

Postby nakatago » Sat, 16 Jul 2011 10:28 pm

x9200 wrote:
taxico wrote:
glenm wrote:Can anyone tell me if I was to borrow my friends Starhub box can I plug it in at my house and will it work? Alternatively if my friend got a 2nd box could I plug that in at my house and would it work?

it will work, but it's against their terms of use and your friend might get into trouble if it's detected (yes, it's detectable) and reported.

It MAY work but not necessarily will. Sometimes starhub needs to activate the local connection.


Isn't that what they do? I remember when we applied for our line that by the time we got home, our line should be 'activated.' So, they have a centralized way of activating lines. Also, the box has a smart card and that thing basically* knows what you can and cannot watch. Getting a line then means it has to be valid at both ends.

So, to reiterate, it MAY work but I doubt that it will.

*it's a lengthy and technical explanation but let's just use the cliff notes version.

User avatar
taxico
Director
Director
Posts: 3190
Joined: Sat, 10 May 2008
Location: Existential dilemma!

Postby taxico » Sun, 17 Jul 2011 12:27 am

the reason why i said it will work was because i tried it, albeit it seems from the 2 previous replies that your results may vary.

i took the cable box from my home to the apartment i rent out to people (vacant at the time) to check if the cable service still worked as there were some cable diversion/rewiring/??? service and cables (a whole chunk, not just starhub's) were accidentally cut.

i plugged the box in, and came back back 30 minutes later and all my channels worked. no one was living in the rental unit at the time and the place is also under my name.

i was informed by the rewiring company (not starhub, some contractors) to check and make sure everything works before the cased everything up in the common area.

internet, however, was not working. the contractors jiggled around until i finally got internet access on my laptop (via network cables through the hubstation).

when i first got the place, i paid $107 to starhub to connect/trunk some wires outside the apartment as the cable points inside were not getting any signal.
Aut viam ad caelum inveniam aut faciam

User avatar
nakatago
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 8333
Joined: Tue, 01 Sep 2009
Location: Sister Margaret’s School for Wayward Children
Contact:

Postby nakatago » Sun, 17 Jul 2011 12:39 am

taxico wrote:the reason why i said it will work was because i tried it, albeit it seems from the 2 previous replies that your results may vary.

i took the cable box from my home to the apartment i rent out to people (vacant at the time) to check if the cable service still worked as there were some cable diversion/rewiring/??? service and cables (a whole chunk, not just starhub's) were accidentally cut.

i plugged the box in, and came back back 30 minutes later and all my channels worked. no one was living in the rental unit at the time and the place is also under my name.

i was informed by the rewiring company (not starhub, some contractors) to check and make sure everything works before the cased everything up in the common area.

internet, however, was not working. the contractors jiggled around until i finally got internet access on my laptop (via network cables through the hubstation).

when i first got the place, i paid $107 to starhub to connect/trunk some wires outside the apartment as the cable points inside were not getting any signal.


must be a fluke then. YMMGV.

User avatar
x9200
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9314
Joined: Mon, 07 Sep 2009
Location: Singapore

Postby x9200 » Sun, 17 Jul 2011 6:27 am

taxico wrote:the reason why i said it will work was because i tried it, albeit it seems from the 2 previous replies that your results may vary.

i took the cable box from my home to the apartment i rent out to people (vacant at the time) to check if the cable service still worked as there were some cable diversion/rewiring/??? service and cables (a whole chunk, not just starhub's) were accidentally cut.

i plugged the box in, and came back back 30 minutes later and all my channels worked. no one was living in the rental unit at the time and the place is also under my name.

Ok, but this sounds like a different case - it worked before, was activated etc. For vacant or without subscription apartments starhab seems to disconnect the services (probably just precaution against the pirated boxes). In our first place a cable guy had to come over to switch something inside the riser box (it was almost 10y ago). More recently in a different place it was done centralized way as Nak described.


  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Computer, Internet, Phone & Electronics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests