Singapore Expats Forum

Long-time resident moving back to Singapore

Relocating, travelling or planning to make Singapore home? Discuss the criterias, passes or visa that is required.
samuelt

Long-time resident moving back to Singapore

Postby samuelt » Mon, 11 Jul 2011 10:24 am

Hi SMS, MS etc,

Would like to seek your recommendation on what to do. I'm a graduate student at an ivy league university in the U.S. due to finish next year and would like to return to Singapore to work. I was born in Singapore to Malaysian parents on an employment pass (they became PR and then citizens after I left for the U.S.) and went to local schools from kindergarten until A levels at one of the two most well-known JCs. I was accepted to law school in Singapore, but my parents decided to broaden my education by sending me to a top 10 liberal arts college in the U.S. where I graduated summa cum laude. I was on a student pass from P1 until JC2 before I left for the U.S. In total I lived in Singapore for 19 years. I did not do N.S. as I was on a student pass almost all of my life. During college, I spent 60 days (the maximum for Malaysians) in Singapore during summers on a SVP.

On paper, I may look quite promising, but I have no commercial job experience other than my research assistanship at graduate school which pays about USD2K per month, just enough to cover my living expenses. I'm hoping to graduate and then hop onto a plane back to Singapore even without a job lined up. Consequently, I'm not sure what kind of immigration status I should apply for. Some of my Malaysian peers who stayed back in Singapore were offered PR while in University, but since I left, I didn't have that opportunity. Psychologically, I'm Singaporean, not Malaysian, and most of my friends and family are in Singapore. Ideally, I would like to apply for PR straight away, but I realize that might not be feasible. Is there a best route for people like me?