Singapore Expats Forum

Work Holiday Pass vs. EPEC/LTVP

Relocating, travelling or planning to make Singapore home? Discuss the criterias, passes or visa that is required.
andrew22

Work Holiday Pass vs. EPEC/LTVP

Postby andrew22 » Sun, 29 May 2011 5:10 am

I apologize if this has been covered here before, but I couldn't seem to find the exact inquiry through search. I have just graduated from a university in the US and have secured an (unpaid) internship at a hedge fund in SG that I would love to take. It appears that, even though it will be unpaid, I still need a work visa to be fully legitimate. As a fresh graduate, I suppose I am still eligible for a WHP, which I also held over the summer of 2009 after studying for a semester at NUS. The WHP seems to satisfy the requirements for my internship, but I am curious as to whether or not I still need to submit a letter from my university with my matric. info, race, nationality, etc. as I did in 2009. Will a copy of my degree supersede this requirement, or should I submit both?

I am also searching for long-term employment in Singapore. I was wondering if I can apply for/hold both a WHP and an EPEC at the same time? Furthermore, if I can indeed hold both, can I also apply for LTVP while holding WHP? Or directly after expiration of the WHP? Thanks for your help. Cheers.

beppi
Manager
Manager

Postby beppi » Sun, 29 May 2011 10:51 am

The company employing you (with or without pay) is responsible for applying for the appropriate work pass you need. Ask them!

Mad Scientist
Director
Director

Re: Work Holiday Pass vs. EPEC/LTVP

Postby Mad Scientist » Sun, 29 May 2011 6:03 pm

andrew22 wrote:
I am also searching for long-term employment in Singapore. I was wondering if I can apply for/hold both a WHP and an EPEC at the same time? Furthermore, if I can indeed hold both, can I also apply for LTVP while holding WHP? Or directly after expiration of the WHP? Thanks for your help. Cheers.