Singapore Expats Forum

I Have Dumped Firefox

Discuss about computers & Internet. Including mobile phones, home appliances & other gadgets. Read about Windows security risks or virus updates.
User avatar
Strong Eagle
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 10728
Joined: Sat, 10 Jul 2004
Location: Off The Red Dot
Contact:

I Have Dumped Firefox

Postby Strong Eagle » Wed, 25 May 2011 12:49 pm

I have given up on Firefox 4. Even after disabling/uninstalling every add on and plug in, it ran like a pig. Any web page with significant javascript on it ran like a pig.

Instead, I've loaded up Chrome and it's speed is amazing. So, I did a search for speed tests and found this one... quite interesting.

http://www.legitreviews.com/article/1610/1/
Last edited by Strong Eagle on Wed, 25 May 2011 2:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
BillyB
Manager
Manager
Posts: 1807
Joined: Fri, 23 Jul 2010
Location: My laptop

Postby BillyB » Wed, 25 May 2011 1:38 pm

Chrome is awesome for speed, I've used it for years now and love it. But not sure how private the 'incognito' window actually is? It's supposed to protect your privacy but you know google and the information age and all that.......

P.S. If I look at porn or feel like writing obscenities, I usually use my GF's laptop!! :wink:

User avatar
nakatago
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 8333
Joined: Tue, 01 Sep 2009
Location: Sister Margaret’s School for Wayward Children
Contact:

Postby nakatago » Wed, 25 May 2011 2:14 pm

BillyB wrote:Chrome is awesome for speed, I've used it for years now and love it. But not sure how private the 'incognito' window actually is? It's supposed to protect your privacy but you know google and the information age and all that.......

P.S. If I look at porn or feel like writing obscenities, I usually use my GF's laptop!! :wink:


Porn mode, also known as private or incognito mode--for ALL browsers--just works by deleting cookies, histories after you go out of porn mode or you close your browser. When you go into porn mode, your browser does not bother remember who you were the last time it launched NOT in porn mode, as if you used a freshly-installed, never-been-used-before browser on a new computer. Porn mode does not alter the way how websites behave so your computer is still associated with an IP number; it just doesn't reference with past data in YOUR computer and will not be able to do so in the future.

How wikipedia describes it: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Privacy_mode


It's useful for debugging a website since it doesn't retain the user's identity in a user's computer. It's also useful--for example--logging into the same web service but with a different account from that from your non-private mode running browser tab or window (i.e. you want to log into two different and distinct yahoo mail accounts).

What you're probably looking for is the "Do not track feature" which (I haven't checked) is in Firefox 4.

User avatar
ScoobyDoes
Manager
Manager
Posts: 1664
Joined: Wed, 29 Nov 2006
Location: A More Lucky Spot

Postby ScoobyDoes » Thu, 26 May 2011 9:16 am

You seem quite the expert on porn-mode.

My only complaint about Chrome is that Bookmarks cannot be pinned and that if I have to open one page from a bookmark then open another page from the bookmark listed next to it, I have to go through the whole directory structure again.

I also have and quite like the new IE but it doesn't work with a few websites (Chrome also doesn't work with a few, like OCBC e-Banking) and it had occasion to crash which involved rebooting the PC. When it works, it works quite well and is quick but i'll wait for a sensible patch before returning it to my default browser.
'When Lewis Hamilton wins a race he has to thank Vodafone whereas in my day I used to chase the crumpet. I know which era I'd rather race in.'

SIR Stirling Moss OBE

User avatar
nakatago
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 8333
Joined: Tue, 01 Sep 2009
Location: Sister Margaret’s School for Wayward Children
Contact:

Postby nakatago » Thu, 26 May 2011 9:31 am

ScoobyDoes wrote:You seem quite the expert on porn-mode.

My only complaint about Chrome is that Bookmarks cannot be pinned and that if I have to open one page from a bookmark then open another page from the bookmark listed next to it, I have to go through the whole directory structure again.

I also have and quite like the new IE but it doesn't work with a few websites (Chrome also doesn't work with a few, like OCBC e-Banking) and it had occasion to crash which involved rebooting the PC. When it works, it works quite well and is quick but i'll wait for a sensible patch before returning it to my default browser.


Oh but it's just a small bit of information I've accumulated about a lot of things.

Anyway, about bookmarks, you could always do this: when you're in a page that you want to bookmark, simply click the star on the URL bar (it's a white, outlined star which will turn yellow-filled) or press CTRL-D. The bookmark will then appear on your bookmark bar. If your bookmark bar isn't visible, just press CTRL+SHIFT B. Alternatively, you can click on the wrench/spanner icon, go to Bookmark Manager and organize your bookmarks.

IE9, just heard good things about it but never really played around with it since I'm using linux on my home computer and I use chrome anyway on both home and work computers.

User avatar
ScoobyDoes
Manager
Manager
Posts: 1664
Joined: Wed, 29 Nov 2006
Location: A More Lucky Spot

Postby ScoobyDoes » Thu, 26 May 2011 6:14 pm

nakatago wrote:Anyway, about bookmarks, you could always do this: when you're in a page that you want to bookmark, simply click the star on the URL bar (it's a white, outlined star which will turn yellow-filled) or press CTRL-D. The bookmark will then appear on your bookmark bar. If your bookmark bar isn't visible, just press CTRL+SHIFT B. Alternatively, you can click on the wrench/spanner icon, go to Bookmark Manager and organize your bookmarks.



Thanks, I know these two processes but they are nowhere near as efficient as Pining the bookmarks open in IE to keep the whole tree out, and the Right-Click to re-order them alphabetically if necessary.....or the drag to place.

I know Google is trying to maximize screen space but at least I want the option to suit myself. Reading forums the same question keeps coming up, 'How can I Pin the Bookmarks so the list is always visible?' so I'll guess I'll have to wait for the patch. With so many people asking for it, Google needs to put it in as an option.
'When Lewis Hamilton wins a race he has to thank Vodafone whereas in my day I used to chase the crumpet. I know which era I'd rather race in.'



SIR Stirling Moss OBE

User avatar
sundaymorningstaple
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 34666
Joined: Thu, 11 Nov 2004
Location: Still Fishing!
Contact:

Postby sundaymorningstaple » Thu, 26 May 2011 8:24 pm

I asked the same question here around a year ago as well. When it couldn't be done, I uninstalled Chrome. FF might be a little slower but I'm still happy with it. (Except for the IRAS Website). :x

User avatar
BillyB
Manager
Manager
Posts: 1807
Joined: Fri, 23 Jul 2010
Location: My laptop

Postby BillyB » Thu, 26 May 2011 8:37 pm

ScoobyDoes wrote:
nakatago wrote:Anyway, about bookmarks, you could always do this: when you're in a page that you want to bookmark, simply click the star on the URL bar (it's a white, outlined star which will turn yellow-filled) or press CTRL-D. The bookmark will then appear on your bookmark bar. If your bookmark bar isn't visible, just press CTRL+SHIFT B. Alternatively, you can click on the wrench/spanner icon, go to Bookmark Manager and organize your bookmarks.



Thanks, I know these two processes but they are nowhere near as efficient as Pining the bookmarks open in IE to keep the whole tree out, and the Right-Click to re-order them alphabetically if necessary.....or the drag to place.

I know Google is trying to maximize screen space but at least I want the option to suit myself. Reading forums the same question keeps coming up, 'How can I Pin the Bookmarks so the list is always visible?' so I'll guess I'll have to wait for the patch. With so many people asking for it, Google needs to put it in as an option.


You just create a number of folders (which will be displayed at the top of the browser. The shorter the folder names, the more you can fit across the page) and as Nakatago said, you click the star and simply select the folder. Then you just click the folder and the bookmarks in the folder are shown as a list on screen. It's hardly inconvenient and if you have a long list, you just scroll down and bob's your uncle.

User avatar
nakatago
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 8333
Joined: Tue, 01 Sep 2009
Location: Sister Margaret’s School for Wayward Children
Contact:

Postby nakatago » Thu, 26 May 2011 8:51 pm

@JayCee, @SMS,

Chrome Bookmarks 'Sidebar' Menu Popup:

https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/nnancliccjabjjmipbpjkfbijifaainp

Use the options of the extension to set if you want the popup to remain open as you click links.

User avatar
Asdracles
Reporter
Reporter
Posts: 538
Joined: Wed, 07 Feb 2007
Location: Hong Kong (bye bye SG!)

Postby Asdracles » Thu, 26 May 2011 9:12 pm

Try to apply for a VISA in ICA website with Chrome or Firefox..... I still need IE in my computer!! :x

ausinsg
Regular
Regular
Posts: 90
Joined: Mon, 02 May 2011
Location: Singapore

Postby ausinsg » Fri, 27 May 2011 4:28 am

Was having problems using Chrome to redeem Starhub points the other day. But a quick google found that you can get an IE compatibility plug-in. Search for "Chrome IE Tab", there are a couple of different options.

I downloaded the IE Tab Classic, and clicked the IE icon at the end of the URL bar when I needed IE mode, and my Starhub shopping cart would finally update.

It is worth seeing if this will fix your problem.


  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Computer, Internet, Phone & Electronics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest