Singapore Expats Forum

Starhub or Singtel

Discuss about computers & Internet. Including mobile phones, home appliances & other gadgets. Read about Windows security risks or virus updates.
User avatar
x9200
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9294
Joined: Mon, 07 Sep 2009
Location: Singapore

Postby x9200 » Thu, 07 Jul 2011 1:53 pm

No you didn't say that but you said this:
I'm not convinced that all broadband is digital yet, especially to the home, or the last mile, which means copper wire is still used.


and this:

The weakness of course is mostly at the users end, which is normally still copper wire, and sent through digital converters, a broadband router is not necessarily a digital router, the MIO router is a digital but limited to 1 phone line, so the technician told me, when i wanted the connection for up stairs.


I simply don't understand what you are saying and why you emphasise everywhere the digital nature of the FO and analogue of the rest. PC you writing on is not digital because does not have FO inside?

User avatar
ksl
Governor
Governor
Posts: 6005
Joined: Mon, 19 Jul 2004
Location: Singapore
Contact:

Postby ksl » Thu, 07 Jul 2011 3:17 pm

x9200 wrote:No you didn't say that but you said this:
I'm not convinced that all broadband is digital yet, especially to the home, or the last mile, which means copper wire is still used.


and this:

The weakness of course is mostly at the users end, which is normally still copper wire, and sent through digital converters, a broadband router is not necessarily a digital router, the MIO router is a digital but limited to 1 phone line, so the technician told me, when i wanted the connection for up stairs.


I simply don't understand what you are saying and why you emphasise everywhere the digital nature of the FO and analogue of the rest. PC you writing on is not digital because does not have FO inside?
Ah yes I can see the confusion, maybe its old age! Basically I mean that if the equipment isn't digital compliant you will not get digital, cables are just a means of carrying energy, the devices used must be digital compliant to recieve digital, hence the weakest link is at the users end. FO is just another transport system

User avatar
sundaymorningstaple
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 34674
Joined: Thu, 11 Nov 2004
Location: Still Fishing!
Contact:

Postby sundaymorningstaple » Thu, 07 Jul 2011 5:24 pm

So I guess that means cable CAN carry digital seeing so many PC are connected to it via broadband? :-|

User avatar
ksl
Governor
Governor
Posts: 6005
Joined: Mon, 19 Jul 2004
Location: Singapore
Contact:

Postby ksl » Thu, 07 Jul 2011 7:19 pm

sundaymorningstaple wrote:So I guess that means cable CAN carry digital seeing so many PC are connected to it via broadband? :-|
yes!
Last edited by ksl on Fri, 08 Jul 2011 4:10 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
sundaymorningstaple
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 34674
Joined: Thu, 11 Nov 2004
Location: Still Fishing!
Contact:

Postby sundaymorningstaple » Thu, 07 Jul 2011 7:53 pm

ksl wrote:
sundaymorningstaple wrote:So I guess that means cable CAN carry digital seeing so many PC are connected to it via broadband? :-|
yes wire cable or whatever wire transportation method used to send frequencies, need http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Analog-to- ... _converter or digital to analog

An analog system is relatively very insecure and has been tapped forever by refugees on the plain old televommunications system, with the lease holders of the lines, having to pay the costs in Court. The courts always took the side of the telecommunications company it was impossible to win, even though the system was the most insecure system in the world. It wasn't until digital lines were introduced, that they could record details of transmission and a detailed bill.

With binary on and off switches it becomes more secure and traceable, though my TV still pixalates on starhub occassionally, probably due to old copper lines with oxidised splitter connectors in the home and outside the buildings, which isn't singtel or starhubs concern.


So, without the long discourse, the actual answer to my question is a simple 'yes'.

User avatar
ksl
Governor
Governor
Posts: 6005
Joined: Mon, 19 Jul 2004
Location: Singapore
Contact:

Postby ksl » Fri, 08 Jul 2011 3:29 am

sundaymorningstaple wrote:
ksl wrote:
sundaymorningstaple wrote:So I guess that means cable CAN carry digital seeing so many PC are connected to it via broadband? :-|
yes wire cable or whatever wire transportation method used to send frequencies, need http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Analog-to- ... _converter or digital to analog

An analog system is relatively very insecure and has been tapped forever by refugees on the plain old telecommunications system, with the lease holders of the lines, having to pay the costs in Court. The courts always took the side of the telecommunications company it was impossible to win, even though the system was the most insecure system in the world. It wasn't until digital lines were introduced, that they could record details of transmission and a detailed bill.

With binary on and off switches it becomes more secure and traceable, though my TV still pixelated on starhub occassionally, probably due to old copper lines with oxidised splitter connectors in the home and outside the buildings, which isn't singtel or starhubs concern.


So, without the long discourse, the actual answer to my question is a simple 'yes'.
Yes
Thanks for the $50! I had a little wager on your reply and true to form you came through a winner :P :wink:

User avatar
sundaymorningstaple
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 34674
Joined: Thu, 11 Nov 2004
Location: Still Fishing!
Contact:

Postby sundaymorningstaple » Fri, 08 Jul 2011 6:53 am

You won 50 bux off'n me? Then you need to buy me a beer at least. As they say here, I deserve some coffee money! :lol: :cool:

Now, if you do a retraction, you gonna look like cheapskate! :P

User avatar
nishantupadhya
Member
Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue, 01 Mar 2011

Postby nishantupadhya » Thu, 28 Jul 2011 11:57 am

I stay around Cantonment area (Cantonment Close) in the south.

Have noticed that the Starhub mobile signal is very poor (inside my flat). Even changed my phone but the signal is still max 2 bars. I do get the 'Welcome to Indonesia' sms as well! Mrs uses Singtel and has no problem with the signal.....so far

User avatar
zzm9980
Governor
Governor
Posts: 6837
Joined: Wed, 06 Jul 2011
Location: Once more unto the breach

Postby zzm9980 » Fri, 02 Sep 2011 12:48 pm

Keep in mind that a lot of large companies with lots of content use CDNs, so even if they're "internetional" the heavy content is cached locally in Singapore.

For example, Apple iTunes/App stores, Yahoo, Google/Youtube, etc...

Not perfect, but helps justify the faster local-only fiber at least :)

User avatar
x9200
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9294
Joined: Mon, 07 Sep 2009
Location: Singapore

Postby x9200 » Sat, 03 Sep 2011 12:18 pm

30 min on the phone with the cheerful voice telling me every minute or so that I will be attended shortly. I hung the line eventually. This is stahub.
Singtel sucks in many similar ways but at least you can get to a consultant in some reasonable time.

sundaymadness
Member
Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue, 06 Sep 2011

Postby sundaymadness » Tue, 13 Sep 2011 12:37 am

i heard starhub "buys" phone lines from singtel? does it mean that effectively all phone lines in singapore belongs to singtel? i don't really understand.

bluenose
Chatter
Chatter
Posts: 207
Joined: Wed, 09 Jul 2008

Postby bluenose » Sat, 29 Oct 2011 3:46 pm

We have recently signed up for Singtel Fibre services.....now that is exceptional.....real internet speed!!!!!

User avatar
ksl
Governor
Governor
Posts: 6005
Joined: Mon, 19 Jul 2004
Location: Singapore
Contact:

Postby ksl » Sat, 29 Oct 2011 7:36 pm

bluenose wrote:We have recently signed up for Singtel Fibre services.....now that is exceptional.....real internet speed!!!!!
:o Been on it several months now! It's okay nothing fantastic, i still see it hanging occasionally for overseas websites. The only real benefit appears to be upload and download speeds. As SMS said its limited to 15MB off the Island.

bluenose
Chatter
Chatter
Posts: 207
Joined: Wed, 09 Jul 2008

Postby bluenose » Mon, 31 Oct 2011 2:15 pm

I tried to sign up to Starhub fibre service....but it would have been easier talking to the wall....as the girl in the shop at Vivo was clueless....said my fibre was not installed.....in the end we found out that they did not want to provide a fibre package complete as I had starhub TV already and they wanted me to wait till March.....did not have the balls to tell the truth....so we went to Singtel and it was plain sailing...attached it to the Mio contract I already had for the soccer....internet speed is so much faster than Starhub Broadband...so much faster it really is quite unbelievable...
Money well spent....

bluenose
Chatter
Chatter
Posts: 207
Joined: Wed, 09 Jul 2008

Postby bluenose » Fri, 04 Nov 2011 11:54 am

I am not sure about 15MB off the island or where that figure comes from....but in my experience since having fibre installed and adding singtel service....it is remarkably quicker....and have not had any issues.
They tested the upload and download speeds and I have a printout...but they were bloody fast..
I use Bit Torrent for some UK shows occasionally and the upload and download is far faster!


  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Computer, Internet, Phone & Electronics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests