Singapore Expats Forum

EPEC and EP

Relocating, travelling or planning to make Singapore home? Discuss the criterias, passes or visa that is required.
sanky_001

EPEC and EP

Postby sanky_001 » Tue, 26 Apr 2011 11:12 pm

Hi all,

Greetings.

I am a student doing my masters in Singapore. My studentpass expires in August and have an option to extend for another month (September).

I am intending to work and live in singapore long-term after my studies. I am currently living with my wife who is holding an employment pass. I know I am eligible for DP. But I dont want to apply now because I am already holding a student pass and waiting for it to expire.

As I am aiming to get an EP ( I understand it is very difficult due to alot of factors) after I complete my degree, I am confused as to what channel do it need to go throug to acquire EP. So the following are my questions:

1.Reckoning my student pass expires in September, at what point should I apply for DP? Or should I apply for EPEC instead?

2. If I am holding a DP, will an employer be able to apply for EP assuming I get a job ?

(Btw: I understand I need to get consent from MOM to work in DP, but I 'Dont Want' to do that as I want an EP 'Independantly' by myself so that my wife and I can back each other up incase either one of us loses job due to the current situation )

Looking forward for suggestions.

Mad Scientist
Director
Director

Re: EPEC and EP

Postby Mad Scientist » Wed, 27 Apr 2011 5:56 am

sanky_001 wrote:Hi all,

Greetings.

I am a student doing my masters in Singapore. My studentpass expires in August and have an option to extend for another month (September).

I am intending to work and live in singapore long-term after my studies. I am currently living with my wife who is holding an employment pass. I know I am eligible for DP. But I dont want to apply now because I am already holding a student pass and waiting for it to expire.