Singapore Expats Forum
 

CDMA Droid Incredible

Discuss about computers & Internet. Including mobile phones, home appliances & other gadgets. Read about Windows security risks or virus updates.
Post Reply
kingw
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat, 09 Apr 2011 12:31 am
Location: Singapore
Contact:

CDMA Droid Incredible

Post by kingw » Thu, 14 Apr 2011 12:32 am

Gents,

I have a droid incredible with Verizon in USA. From my research it seems that the phone being CDMA is not a good thing for Singapore.

Are there any solutions that I've over-looked, or shall I start looking to sell this thing?

I know in the past this issue had been disused, but most threads were dated and I am not sure if anything has changed.

Thanks for the input.

-kingw

User avatar
Strong Eagle
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11642
Joined: Sat, 10 Jul 2004 12:13 am
Location: Off The Red Dot
Contact:

Post by Strong Eagle » Thu, 14 Apr 2011 7:51 am

Wrong network. All GSM here. Sell it.

User avatar
nakatago
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 8342
Joined: Tue, 01 Sep 2009 11:23 pm
Location: Sister Margaret’s School for Wayward Children

Post by nakatago » Thu, 14 Apr 2011 8:46 am

FYI, the nearest CDMA networks would be India and Indonesia. And only because I'm lazy to fact check, I think some parts of China.

kingw
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat, 09 Apr 2011 12:31 am
Location: Singapore
Contact:

thanks

Post by kingw » Thu, 14 Apr 2011 9:26 am

thank you, that confirms what I thought.

Appreciated.

-b

User avatar
sundaymorningstaple
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 37815
Joined: Thu, 11 Nov 2004 1:26 pm
Answers: 2
Location: Retired on the Little Red Dot

Post by sundaymorningstaple » Thu, 14 Apr 2011 9:28 am

I believe, what's left of Japan uses CDMA as well doesn't it? But it's a slightly different frequency I believe.

http://b2b.vzw.com/international/technology/cdma.html

User avatar
Strong Eagle
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11642
Joined: Sat, 10 Jul 2004 12:13 am
Location: Off The Red Dot
Contact:

Post by Strong Eagle » Thu, 14 Apr 2011 10:53 am

sundaymorningstaple wrote:I believe, what's left of Japan uses CDMA as well doesn't it? But it's a slightly different frequency I believe.

http://b2b.vzw.com/international/technology/cdma.html

Correct. US phone won't work in JP. Nor will standard GSM phone. Must have a quad band (like iPhone) to work.

UMTS/HSDPA (850, 1900, 2100 MHz)
GSM/EDGE (850, 900, 1800, 1900 MHz)

bigfilsing
Reporter
Reporter
Posts: 661
Joined: Wed, 04 Jan 2006 6:11 pm

Post by bigfilsing » Sat, 16 Apr 2011 12:19 am

Strong Eagle wrote:
sundaymorningstaple wrote:I believe, what's left of Japan uses CDMA as well doesn't it? But it's a slightly different frequency I believe.

http://b2b.vzw.com/international/technology/cdma.html

Correct. US phone won't work in JP. Nor will standard GSM phone. Must have a quad band (like iPhone) to work.

UMTS/HSDPA (850, 1900, 2100 MHz)
GSM/EDGE (850, 900, 1800, 1900 MHz)
Incorrect ....again

get a grip or STFU

User avatar
Strong Eagle
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11642
Joined: Sat, 10 Jul 2004 12:13 am
Location: Off The Red Dot
Contact:

Post by Strong Eagle » Sat, 16 Apr 2011 8:19 am

bigfilsing wrote:
Strong Eagle wrote:
sundaymorningstaple wrote:I believe, what's left of Japan uses CDMA as well doesn't it? But it's a slightly different frequency I believe.

http://b2b.vzw.com/international/technology/cdma.html

Correct. US phone won't work in JP. Nor will standard GSM phone. Must have a quad band (like iPhone) to work.

UMTS/HSDPA (850, 1900, 2100 MHz)
GSM/EDGE (850, 900, 1800, 1900 MHz)
Incorrect ....again

get a grip or STFU
Keep it up bigfilsing, and I don't care how long you have been on the board, you will be banned. Check your inbox for a PM.

bigfilsing
Reporter
Reporter
Posts: 661
Joined: Wed, 04 Jan 2006 6:11 pm

Post by bigfilsing » Sun, 17 Apr 2011 3:38 am

Ooooooh scary !

You and sadam and mubarak going to love your excile

Dont threaten people you lame arse /
You dont even live here tosser

Look up forum Not to you liking , cool then dont call it a forum anymore

Cheeky overseas wanker

bigfilsing
Reporter
Reporter
Posts: 661
Joined: Wed, 04 Jan 2006 6:11 pm

Post by bigfilsing » Sun, 17 Apr 2011 3:44 am

Strong Eagle wrote:
bigfilsing wrote:
Strong Eagle wrote:
Correct. US phone won't work in JP. Nor will standard GSM phone. Must have a quad band (like iPhone) to work.

UMTS/HSDPA (850, 1900, 2100 MHz)
GSM/EDGE (850, 900, 1800, 1900 MHz)
Incorrect ....again


get a grip or STFU
Keep it up bigfilsing, and I don't care how long you have been on the board, you will be banned. Check your inbox for a PM.
Ive tried i really have but because you guys couldn't manage a sweet shop i can find my inbox . Clearly its cos im a nedandertal dick head moron . Dont threaten me in private ...do it publicly . Ill live

wil you

bigfilsing
Reporter
Reporter
Posts: 661
Joined: Wed, 04 Jan 2006 6:11 pm

Post by bigfilsing » Sun, 17 Apr 2011 3:47 am

Strong Eagle wrote:
bigfilsing wrote:
Strong Eagle wrote:
Correct. US phone won't work in JP. Nor will standard GSM phone. Must have a quad band (like iPhone) to work.

UMTS/HSDPA (850, 1900, 2100 MHz)
GSM/EDGE (850, 900, 1800, 1900 MHz)
Incorrect ....again

get a grip or STFU
Keep it up bigfilsing, and I don't care how long you have been on the board, you will be banned. Check your inbox for a PM.

email xxx@xxx.com.sg mobile 9999999

Email and phone number edited by moderator

Wanna play fuc ....cool ....time and place lame arse

go on I dare you

User avatar
sundaymorningstaple
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 37815
Joined: Thu, 11 Nov 2004 1:26 pm
Answers: 2
Location: Retired on the Little Red Dot

Post by sundaymorningstaple » Sun, 17 Apr 2011 10:20 am

I'm not SE, and sound and fury don't mean squat to me. You're banned until/unless Admin overturn it. They have been advised of the problem as well.

moderator

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Computer, Internet, Phone & Electronics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests